Behind the Blog: Candice at The Grown Up YA

Have you met…Candice from The Grown Up YA?

Tell us a bit about yourself.

I’m <mumbles>thirtysomething<mumbles> years old from Alabama. Huge fan of reading (obviously) but I also enjoy college football, painting, and pretending I can DIY my home. I have both my bachelor’s and master’s degrees but am using neither; I’m okay with that. One day I would like to be a professional blogger and getting paid to play on the internet. A girl can dream, right? 🙂

How did you end up here in the world of book blogging?

Sort of by on purpose accident. I knew I wanted a website but had no idea what I wanted to do. A friend and I started a blog called Cupcakes and Cover Letters (go ahead, Google it. I’ll wait) but I wanted to write about books and couldn’t figure out how to incorporate it into that site. So I started The Grown-Up YA on a whim, thinking I wouldn’t last 2 months. 2 1/2 years later… here I am!

What types of books do you enjoy reading?

I’m a huge fantasy nerd. But not super hard fantasy. I’m more a fantasy-lite girl. I also really love a good horror book, which is funny because I cannot watch scary movies. And zombie books. I have a major soft spot for zombie books.

What do you bring to the world of book blogging? What’s unique about your perspective of books?

I don’t think there’s anything particularly unique about me or my blog, but I feel like it’s pretty special. It gives me a place to pour out my “secret” identity – in real life, I’m pretty anal, serious, particular, and boring. I love that my blog is my own space that I can let my inner self out. I try to keep it light and fun(ny), adding humor (at least I hope I add humor), and just making a safe place for people to express their opinions, thoughts, comments, etc.

Do you have any helpful hints about blogging?

Be yourself. Don’t try to be pretentious and overly smart sounding and stuffy and whatever your opinion of book reviewers is. Some of the best blogs out there are ones where you can see the blogger’s personality jumping off the page.
Also, don’t overextend yourself. It’s easy to want to do all the things, but that only makes it easier to get burnt out and want to quit. Take your time. Enjoy it. It’s a fun community that you’ll want to be a part of so don’t wear yourself out!

When you go to the library (or bookstore), you bring a list of books to get or do you browse to find your next book?

I generally go with an idea of what I want in mind when I go to the library or bookstore (except used bookstores; then it’s like a treasure hunt!). But I do consult my Goodreads list using my app on my phone to see if there is anything I might want to look for while I’m there!

What type of things always grab your attention in books?

Zombies. Well, that was easy.
I’m also drawn to books that take place in the South, especially in Alabama. I love seeing not only places I’m familiar with but an author’s take on Southern culture/people/places. I feel like it’s rare that an author captures us so completely!

What book trends do you hope to see more of?

I can’t say there are any trends that I’m over the moon about at the moment, but I would like to see more fantasy with heroines who aren’t immediately heroic (ie Girl of Fire and Thorns).

What books do you constantly recommend to other people?

Throne of Glass by Sara Maas, The Book Thief by Markus Zusack, Code Name Verity and Rose Under Fire by Elizabeth Wein

Any exciting blog things happening in the future?

Not that I have planned right now… but stay tuned! 🙂

 

Thanks Candice!

Want to be featured? Check out the details here or fill out the form below.

3 thoughts on “Behind the Blog: Candice at The Grown Up YA

  1. Hey, another person who likes scary books but not scary movies. I’m in the same boat. I watched two horror movies last year, to test whether I had become interested in horror movies, and I had not. They are still way too scary to me.

What are your thoughts? (Comments are moderated. Yours will be up as soon as I read it!)

