Book Blogging Pet Peeves: Comment Section

Book (Blogging) Pet Peeves is a feature where I do a mini-rant about book blogging things that annoy me. Feel free to join in!

pardontherant

I love comments. What blogger doesn’t? I’ve been trying to be better at returning comments for bloggers who have left comments on my blog. Lately I’ve been running into problems on some of those blogs though. There’s no easy way to leave a comment!

There are blogs whose only way to leave comments is to sign into a Google+ account. That doesn’t work for me. I don’t have a Google+ account for the blog and I have no intention to set one up. If that’s the only way to give you feedback, I guess I can’t do it.

Another one I’ve seen is only having Facebook comments. Yet again, I don’t have a Facebook account for the blog and don’t want one. I’m not going to leave a comment through my personal account so yet again I can’t leave a comment on this blog.

I’ve also seen a number of random plugins for comments on blogs. I don’t know what they all are but many of them require you to make a new account (with the plugin) to comment. BAH! Can you see a trend here? I don’t want to make a new account just to comment.

I wonder if bloggers out there know that limiting comments annoys potential readers stumbling onto their blog. First of all, it makes it so I can’t comment on a post. If I’m not able to comment, it’s not worth it for me to follow the blog because I won’t be able to ‘talk’ to the blogger in the future on other posts. I know that they might be limiting the types of comments on their blog to help with the amount of spam they get. Is weeding out spam worth losing potential readers? I guess that’s up to each individual blogger to decide.

My suggestion is to allow the reader/commenter decide how they want to comment. It’s perfectly fine to allow Google+ or Facebook accounts to comment on your blog, I’d just advise you to make sure that’s not the only option you offer. I’d also suggest looking at your blog when you’re not logged it. Make sure commenting is easy to do. I know sometimes the blog hosts make changes that we’re not aware of so we might not even be aware of how difficult commenting can be!

What are your thoughts on the subject?

12 thoughts on “Book Blogging Pet Peeves: Comment Section

  1. I think this is a very important point to make. I prefer the standard comments. Where you leave you name email and blog address such as yours. I don’t mind discus or a google account either though. I haven’t ran into too many facebook ones, but yes that would annoy me. I don’t know if it would really make me not want to follow them, but I wouldn’t comment.

  2. I’ve noticed this trend too. It seems to be becoming more common and it is frustrating. I don’t want to have to sign up for some other service just to leave a comment, so I end up not commenting where I otherwise would have.

  3. I’m with you. The worst is when I stumble across a new blog or blog post, get all excited about something I read and want to comment on it, and then find that I need to have an account that I don’t have in order to comment. I’m so glad your blog in commenter-friendly, or I wouldn’t be leaving my comments here. 🙂

    • It never fails that I discover I’m unable to comment if I’ve discovered a particular awesome post. Yay! I’m glad I’m comment friendly. I strive to be but sometimes wordpress can be weird.

  4. I feel the same! I haven’t run into many blogs that have this problem, but feel like it limits people from commenting which stinks. I do like when there are multiple ways of commenting, but you have to offer several options because, like you said, not everyone has all the accounts you may have.

  5. There have been times when I wanted to comment on someone’s blog but couldn’t because I don’t have Google+ or Facebook and don’t want to make an account there (or anywhere, really). I think there are a lot of people who don’t realise that not everyone has a Google+/Facebook account. I’m glad that most blogs are very comment friendly.

    By the way, I’ve nominated you for the Dardo Award.

What are your thoughts? (Comments are moderated. Yours will be up as soon as I read it!)

