Behind the Blog: Rachael at Rachael Turns Pages

A big welcome to Rachael @ Rachael Turns Pages!

Tell us a bit about yourself.

I’m a 19 year old college Freshman. I balance blogging in with my busy college life not always so graciously. Obviously I love to read, but I’m also an avid sports fan College volleyball and High School girls basketball are among my favorite to watch. I also enjoy running and plan to run several 5K races this summer. I’m a rather reserved person when you first meet me, but that is often short lived and then you can’t get me to shut up. I’m going to college to be an Elementary Education and Special Education major with the hope of being a kindergarten teacher.

 How did you end up here in the world of book blogging?

I started book blogging in 2013 on a whim to record my feelings on books I read that year. As you can see I have continued into 2014 and continue to love book blogging. I pride myself on being a blogger that does not limit what kind of books I read. I love all types of books and my tbr pile is always overflowing with lots of books I want to read. Unfortunately with college I don’t have as much time as I would like.

What types of books do you enjoy reading?

I like all types of books. Adult fiction, YA romance, dystopian, fairy tale retellings.

What do you bring to the world of book blogging? What’s unique about your perspective of books?

I love being apart of this community and finally having some people to talk to about books. I think my blog is light and fun to explore. At least I have making the posts and coming up with creative ideas.

Do you have any helpful hints about blogging?

The most helpful hint I have for blogging is not to make blogging a chore. If blogging becomes a chore you will no longer enjoy it. If you need a break from posting content go ahead and take one because the book blogging community will always welcome you back.

When you go to the library (or bookstore), you bring a list of books to get or do you browse to find your next book?

I use the library most frequently and I use request books and come in to pick them up otherwise I usually know what book I want to check out to read next. With bookstores I go in and pick at random. I’m reading a book right now I bought just because of the beautiful cover.

What type of things always grab your attention in books?

I really like romance, but not the cheesy sort just teenagers having normal relationships. Friendships can be even more interesting sometimes because they can be very complex and complicated.

What book trends do you hope to see more of?

Authors like Stephanie Perkins and Veronica Roth type of books would be fine by me. I also love the trend of fairy tale retellings going on right now.

What books do you constantly recommend to other people?

The Book Thief by Markus Zusak
Firefly Lane by Kristin Hannah

Any exciting blog things happening in the future?

Yes, I have the Library Books Readathon coming up in June. It will be a full week of tackling our pile of library books while I post about library themed things. I’m also looking for guest posters if possible.

Anything else you’d like to add?

Thanks for hosting me Alison. Come over and visit me at my blog to join in on the fun.

Thanks Rachael!

Want to be featured? Check out the details here or fill out the form below.

3 thoughts on “Behind the Blog: Rachael at Rachael Turns Pages

What are your thoughts? (Comments are moderated. Yours will be up as soon as I read it!)

