Audiobook Recommendations!

I’ve messed around with audiobooks in the past. I’ve been getting them from SYNC for the past few summers. I’d download them and listen to them at my own pace. At times, my own pace meant upwards of months of listening to a book on and off.  As a result, I was never terribly wowed by audiobooks because they never worked for my schedule.

I’ve had tons of free time lately so I’ve been working on my knitting. Most of the time I watch Netflix while I work so it isn’t so quiet. This past week I’ve decided to switch it up and listen to an audiobook while knitting. I’m LOVING it. I’m getting reading done and I’m being productive at the same time. Not to mention, the time is flying by. I listened to about half of an audiobook while working on a project this afternoon.

Since I’m loving it, I decided to ask for some audiobook recommendations. Obviously, I can go off of my TBR list and see what the library has but personal recommendations are lovely.

Katherine Kellgren is narrating Enchanted by Alethea Kontis which I’m currently listening to. I’m really quite enjoying the story as well as her narration. We all know a narrator can make or break a book.

Do you have any audiobook recommendations?
How about any narrator recommendations?

Thank you!

16 thoughts on “Audiobook Recommendations!

  1. I love Audiobooks.
    I can vividly remember laying on my back in the living room listening to The Hobbit on an LP. The character of Golem was so alive and real for me. As an adult I started listening to them on long car trips. My favorite was a sweeping story of a family in London during WWII. I wish I could remember the title, because I would love to read it again. That was so long ago those were in the books on tape days.

    Now I listen on my phone while I do chores in the barn, or ride, or groom the horses. I still listen as I drive as well, or taking the dogs for a walk. Makes time go by so much faster and I get to “read” more books than I would without listening to them.

    A good narrator can really make or break a book. I find I don’t like books with two different narrators, or those that add sound effects. If the author wrote that the wind whistled through the trees I find it completely distracting to have the sound of the wind whistling.

    Some of my most recent favorites are Neil Gaiman narrating anything he has written, specifically Neverwhere and The ocean at the end of the lane.

    Kathleen Kellgren is an amazing narrator. I listened to her read The FireBird by Suzanne Kearsley and All Clear by Connie Willis. I think she can make any story worth listening to.

    And any of the Nevada Barr series read by Barbara Roesnblat is outstanding.

    Enjoy your new audiobook journey. Sometimes the written word is just meant to be spoken out loud.

  2. I’m haven’t gotten around to listening as many audiobooks as I would like, but I have stumble upon some great narrators:

    The Fault in Our Stars by John Green, narrated by Kate Rudd was amazing! I just couldn’t stop crying. So beatufilly narrated.

    Also, I downloaded a couple of weeks ago, from audible.com a book called Brilliance by Marcus Sakey narrated by Luke Daniels. He is very cool. He has this deep voice that gives the book a vibe of an old black and white detective movie.

    Finally I listened to Looking for Alaska by John Green, narrated by Jeff Woodman. I loved what he did with the male voices, but not so much for female.

    Hope that helps.

  3. I love audiobooks! I’m not sure what books you’ve read so forgive me if I recommend some you’ve already read:

    His Dark Materials series by Philip Pullman – fabulous middle grade audiobook production!
    The Scorpio Races by Maggie Stiefvater – Both narrators are wonderful, but Steve West has an incredibly dreamy voice
    The Sweetness at the Bottom of the Pie by Alan Bradley – really fun, unique mysteries set in 1950s England. Awesome main character
    Being Sloane Jacobs by Lauren Morrill – I liked this one so much more than Meant to Be, largely because the audioboo is amazing
    Winger by Andrew Smith – I’m listening to this now and I LOVE ti!
    The Goose Girl by Shannon Hale – I think you’ve read this but just in case

    • Thanks for the recs, Quinn!
      I’ve struggled with His Dark Materials but maybe audiobooks would be a good way to give it another chance.
      I’ve been meaning to read the Sweetness at the Bottom of the Pie for a while. Guess I need to see if we have the audiobook of it!

  4. I have nothing to recommend, I’m afraid. I get impatient with audiobooks and just want to find the physical book so I can read it at a proper pace. My go-to thing to do while I’m doing crafts (cross-stitch, in my case) is to watch Netflix.

    • Ha! I know what you mean about pace. I’ve found I’m liking audiobooks more if I can listen to a good chunk of story in a sitting (1-2 hours). Netflix is an awesome choice too. Hooray for multitasking!

  5. I have a two hour daily commute, so I am very indebted to audiobooks! The Harry Potter series by Jim Dale are absolutely incredible. I am also enjoying Warm Bodies right now. I hear the Monstrumologist series is pretty incredible on audio as well. Have fun!

  6. I know I’ve suggested the Lemony Snickett books that are narrated by Tim Curry. His Dark Materials are FANTASTIC. The Book Thief audio was beautiful. Cinder on audio was good too. Hope you find some that are great companions to knitting! 🙂

  7. Barbara Rosenblat is definitely one of my favourite narrators I have discovered so far. She narrates so much stuff!

    I am a terrible rereader so last year I started rereading by audio… It’s fun to revisit old favourites in a different way. I definitely recommend it!

What are your thoughts? (Comments are moderated. Yours will be up as soon as I read it!)

