Movie Review: Divergent

“Divergent”

Source: Saw in theaters

More about the series

Summary from IMDB:

In a world divided by factions based on virtues, Tris learns she’s Divergent and won’t fit in. When she discovers a plot to destroy Divergents, Tris and the mysterious Four must find out what makes Divergents dangerous before it’s too late.


It’s been a while (3 years?) since I read the book so it’s really hard to me to say how close the adaption was to the book. From what I could tell, it hit the highlights (or at least, the ones I could remember).

Much like the book, the world building was severely lacking. We’re given a ~5 minute introduction to this world and a quick rundown of what the factions are. Then we’re left on our own. Since I read the book, I knew what was going on but I know if I hadn’t I would be really left in the dark.

The bright side is the movie looked pretty cool. The sets (or CGI) were done really well and looked fantastic. The inside of Dauntless looked much like I pictured it in my mind. The rest of Chicago looked awesomely futuristic.

I have to say I was pretty impressed with Woodley’s Tris. I know I was left scratching my head at the casting. Woodley was able to make me like Tris which is pretty fantastic. Tris in the books annoyed me beyond belief because of how reckless she could be. The movie toned her down and made her choices seem more natural rather than stupid. It also probably helped that we weren’t in her head the whole time. I’m not sure how much of the physical work Woodley did but I thought she really did a great job. I could truly see her as Tris and saw how she developed from being tiny and pretty weak to small and strong.

I’m still undecided on the staying power of the movie. It was absolutely fun and a decent enough action movie. Plus:

I just didn’t get that urge to watch it again immediately like I did with the Hunger Games or Harry Potter. We’ll see what happens. I think I saw that Insurgent’s script is now being written?

 The bottom line? I think fans of the book will have the most fun with the movie.

7 thoughts on “Movie Review: Divergent

  1. Haha, I liked Tris in a book. I have such feeling that if she has been acting (more) mature it would look/feel fake to me.

    Did there come any moments from the next volume? I watched trailed and I have got such feeling that the movie might be spoiling some moments from following books…

  2. I’m probably going to wait and catch this on Netflix or something. If Shailene Woodley weren’t in it I might not even bother with that, but I think she’s a cool and interesting actress. Loved her in The Spectacular Now.

    • It’s definitely more of a dollar theater/Netflix type movie. I had only seen her in The Secret Life of the American Teenager before this so her performance really impressed me. I’ll have to check out what else she’s done!

  3. I didn’t like Tris in the book nor did I love the book in general, but I’ve heard such good things about how the book was represented in the movie that I might go see it anyway 🙂

  4. Pingback: Movie Review: The Giver | The Cheap Reader

What are your thoughts? (Comments are moderated. Yours will be up as soon as I read it!)

