Book Review: “Hollow City”

“Hollow City (Miss Peregrine’s Peculiar Children #2)” by Ransom Riggs

Genre: Young Adult Fiction, Fantasy, Paranormal


Other Miss Peregrine’s Books

Source: Library

Summary from Goodreads:

The extraordinary journey that began in Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children continues as Jacob Portman and his newfound friends journey to London the peculiar capital of the world. But in this war-torn city, hideous surprises lurk around every corner. Like its predecessor, this second novel in the Peculiar Children series blends thrilling fantasy with never-before-published vintage photography to create a one-of-a-kind reacting experience.

review

It’s never a good sign that you’re debating DNFing a book the entire time while reading the book. Hallow City wasn’t bad by any means, it just wasn’t a book that agreed with me at all. The biggest misstep of the book for me was the lack of recap. The first book had a lot going on in it. There was a large cast of characters and it was unlike any other story out there. That’s a lot for anyone to have to remember. The only ‘recap’ we were given were some pictures in the front of the book with the children’s names and a sentence about them.  I managed to make my way through the book but I still had no idea what was going on.

I had no idea what was going on and I didn’t really care what was going on after a while. All 400 pages of it take place over 3 days. The story moved way too slow for me. It just felt like it was going nowhere. Not to mention we still have no resolution which is always annoying.

In addition to the lacking story, the characters were pretty dull as well. I did really enjoy the few moments where we got to know a bit of the characters backstories. I wish that heart had carried through to more of the book. Once we got away from that one-on-one, characters just defaulted to cardboard with a quirk.

Going along with the dull characters, Jacob and Emma’s “romance” was one of the most boring I’ve ever read. I didn’t feel any passion between them at all. Jacob may as well been kissing his grandma (especially considering her age). Seriously, how was that paring supposed to work? Emma had a thing for his grandpa. The whole situation is icky on many levels.

The bottom line? Yawn inducing for me but worth picking up if you loved the first book.

5 thoughts on “Book Review: “Hollow City”

  1. I liked the first book, didn’t love it, and I felt even in that one that the characters were verging on cardboard a lot of the time. I suppose that’s what happens when you find a bunch of pictures and try to shape a story to fit them (which is what happened, right? Am I remembering that correctly?)

  2. Oh no! Wanting to stop reading the whole time you’re reading is definitely not a good sign. I haven’t read these books and I don’t know that I will. Pretty much everything else from the publisher appeals to me, but these not so much.

  3. Pingback: Ransom Riggs – Hollow City | Fyrefly's Book Blog

What are your thoughts? (Comments are moderated. Yours will be up as soon as I read it!)

