Top Ten Bookish Bucket List

Top Ten Tuesday is hosted by The Broke and The Bookish.

This week’s topic is: Top Ten Bookish Bucket List

1. Work in a library. I can cross that off my list! I’ve worked the past two years in a library. 😀 I have to take a few months off but hopefully I’ll be back before too long.

2. Get a secure job in a library. This one will be a bit harder to accomplish with the economy the way it is but I’m working towards it!

3. Become a Youth Services Librarian. After working in a library for the past two years, there’s no doubt that libraries are the career path for me.

4. Go to a professional book conference. BEA, ALA, something! I’m not even terribly interested in the free books (those would be nice though). I would love to hear all those other professionals talk about books and the industry.

5. Have some real organization with my books. My living space is pretty cramped at the moment so most of my books are boxed up. I can’t wait to have the space to put up bookshelves and actually have some normal organization to the books.

6. Meet more authors/go to book events. I’ve only recently started going to book events but they’re so much fun! It’s nice to actually see other people who are into the same books as you are. Plus it’s always fun to meet authors.

7. Visit the Wizarding World of Harry Potter. Several co-workers went here in the past year and couldn’t stop gushing about it.

8. Continue to become a knowledgeable reader. Readers’ advisory is a big part of any library job. I’ve done a pretty good job at the YA and Children’s readers’ advisory for the past year. Obviously, book blogging has been a huge help with that. Blogging has forced me to read more. Not to mention, seeing other people’s reviews and posts has helped fill in the blanks for books I haven’t personally read. Let’s hope I can continue down the path of lots of reading!

9. Join a book club. Not just any book club though. I’d love to join one where we read YA books even if we’re a bit older than the ‘intended’ audience. 😉

10. Raise children who love reading. I want to be able to pass on my love for reading to my future children. Plus I can’t wait to relive all the magic with them!

What’s on your bucket list?

14 thoughts on “Top Ten Bookish Bucket List

  1. Great list! Try to get to your region’s ALA, from what I have heard from my librarian friends, it is the best event. Good luck with forming a book club – I have tried several and failed.

  2. I’ve been to the Wizarding World of Harry Potter once, and it was amazing. Ridiculously crowded (even in the off season) but amazing. I hope you get there sometime soon. I also would love to meet more authors/go to author events, more. There are a few relatively near where I am a year, but nver many, so I often have to travel a ways if I want to go.

    I’m glad you liked working in a library so much, and I hope your furlough isn’t too bad.

    • Awww, I’m sorry there aren’t many events near you. That’s always a bummer. Maybe keep an eye out on smaller bookstores in your area? I’ve discovered that’s where most of the events I’m going to are hosted.

      Thanks, Quinn!

What are your thoughts? (Comments are moderated. Yours will be up as soon as I read it!)

