DNF: “The Twistrose Key”

“The Twistrose Key” by Tone Almhjell

Genre: Middle Grade/Children’s Fiction, Fantasy

GoodreadsSource: Library

Summary from Goodreads:

When a mysterious parcel arrives at her family’s new home, eleven-year-old Lin Rosenquist has a curious feeling she’s meant to discover what’s inside.

Much to Lin’s surprise, the ornate key contained in the parcel unlocks a spellbinding world called Sylver, hidden behind the cellar door. Sylver is an enchanting land of eternal winter, inhabited by animals that shared a special connection with children in the real world, either as beloved pets or tamed wild animals. In death, they are delivered to Sylver, where they take on a curiously human-like form and still watch over the children they cherish. While Lin is overjoyed to be reunited with her beloved pet, Rufus, she soon learns that the magic of the Petlings and Wilders is failing, and snow trolls want to claim Sylver for themselves. Lin must discover a way to stop them and save this enchanted world.

Full of charm, suspense, and heartfelt emotion, this memorable classic in the making will leave readers breathless.

Review

Stopped at page 138.

I went into this completely blind which may have been a bad idea. The children’s librarian recommended it to me so I put it on hold without even looking at the summary. The book is an animal book. I’m really not an animal book person. I like animals/pets well enough but I don’t really enjoy reading books about them. This book was no different.The book starts in the real world with Lin having a hard time adjusting to her new home before she’s whisked away to Sylver that’s a heaven like place for pets when they die? The pets are now about the size of people and can talk and do many things people do (have jobs, walk on 2 feet, etc). To me, that’s not really a fantastical land.

The story moved really slow for me. Lin gets to this world and then she is just shown around? I think she’s supposed to solve a mystery if she wants to be able to go home? I’m still really sure what the major plot was (or if I even got to it yet).

The bottom line? All in all, this wasn’t a bad story. It’s just not my type of fantasy story.

4 thoughts on “DNF: “The Twistrose Key”

  1. I’ve been curious about this book, and I’ve seen some good reviews. But I didn’t realize that it was about animals. I don’t like animcal stories either. They just aren’t for me.

  2. It sounds like the type of fantasy story I’d have loved at a very particular age — eight or nine or so — and been indifferent to at every other time in my life. There were definitely a few years where I was into animal stories (Animorphs, anyone?), but it was a small window.

What are your thoughts? (Comments are moderated. Yours will be up as soon as I read it!)

