2014 Youth Media Awards

Last week was the American Library Association’s Midwinter Conference. I would have loved to have gone but I wasn’t able to. One of the more exciting aspects of the conference are the awards they give out. This is only a small sample of the winners and honors. You can find more books here.

Let’s take a look at some of the winners and honors.

Newbery Medal


Flora and Ulysses” by Kate DiCamillo

Newbery Honor

“Doll Bones,”  by Holly Black
“The Year of Billy Miller,”  by Kevin Henkes
“One Came Home,” by Amy Timberlake
“Paperboy,”  by Vince Vawter

Caldecott Medal

“Locomotive” by Brian Floca

Caldecott Honor

“Journey,” written and illustrated by Aaron Becker
“Flora and the Flamingo,” written and illustrated by Molly Idle
“Mr. Wuffles!” written and illustrated by David Wiesne

Batchelder Award
“Mister Orange” by Truss Matti

Batchelder Honor

“The Bathing Costume or the Worst Vacation of My Life,” by Charlotte Moundlic
“My Father’s Arms Are a Boat,”  by Stein Erik Lunde
“The War Within These Walls,”  by Aline Sax

Printz Winner

“Midwinterblood” by Marcus Sedgwick

Printz Honor

“Eleanor & Park,” by Rainbow Rowell
“Kingdom of Little Wounds,” by Susann Cokal
“MAGGOT MOON,” by Sally Gardner
“Navigating Early,” by Clare Vanderpool

Looking over all of the winners and honors, I was surprised that I have read only a few of the books. I was even more surprised that I didn’t even recognize many of the books! I read Flora and Ulysses months ago and wasn’t really wowed by it. I’m glad DiCamillo won though because I do think she’s a great author. I’ve put a few more winners/honors on my hold list since looking over the results.

What do you think of the winners/honors?
Are you going to read any of the books now?

2 thoughts on “2014 Youth Media Awards

  1. I will probably read Midwinterblood, even though I’m very sad Eleanor and Park didn’t win the Printz award. I’ll try not to think, when I’m reading it, how much worse it is than Eleanor and Park (I mean, I’m assuming — it would be hard for anything to be better). :p

What are your thoughts? (Comments are moderated. Yours will be up as soon as I read it!)

