Book Review: “Allegiant”

“Allegiant (Divergent #3)” by Veronica Roth

Genre: Young Adult Fiction, Science Fiction, Dystopia

GoodreadsOther Divergent books

Source: Library

Summary from Goodreads:

The faction-based society that Tris Prior once believed in is shattered—fractured by violence and power struggles and scarred by loss and betrayal. So when offered a chance to explore the world past the limits she’s known, Tris is ready. Perhaps beyond the fence, she and Tobias will find a simple new life together, free from complicated lies, tangled loyalties, and painful memories.

But Tris’s new reality is even more alarming than the one she left behind. Old discoveries are quickly rendered meaningless. Explosive new truths change the hearts of those she loves. And once again, Tris must battle to comprehend the complexities of human nature—and of herself—while facing impossible choices about courage, allegiance, sacrifice, and love.

review

The dual narration didn’t really work for me. My biggest problem was I couldn’t tell Tris and Four’s voices apart. They both were too mopey. Wah my significant other is lying to me. And then they would run off and lie to the other one.

There was a lot of info dumping but it felt really slow moving as well. Obviously that makes for weird pacing. The back story was a really interesting idea but it felt like it came out of no where. More of this stuff should have been discussed in earlier books. All of the evil government stuff felt really forced. It felt like Roth was trying to cram way too much stuff into one book.

The book and particularly the ending didn’t move me. I knew what was going to happen but I still expected to feel something at the death. The only thing I ended up feeling was a bit proud because Tris finally showed some maturity by forgiving her brother and allowing him to live.

Tris’s arrogance really annoyed me. Yes, Four made some bad decisions but the yelling about how she was right was silly. Not to mention how she died. She was going past very deadly poison. It’s a fair assumption that it will likely kill her. She’s not superwoman. I hate to say it  but I was almost glad that her arrogance came around to bite her.

It was really ballsy to kill off Tris. On one hand, it really annoyed me. Why invest my time and energy into a book where the main character doesn’t make it? On the other hand, it makes it closer to real life. Fighting is really messy. Things don’t usually end well. People die who shouldn’t.

The bottom line? Eh. I wasn’t a fan.

6 thoughts on “Book Review: “Allegiant”

  1. I haven’t heard enough good things about Allegiant to read it myself, but I do love it that the author was brave enough to kill off her heroine. It’s just a shame the execution of that wasn’t as good as it needed to be. :/

  2. I was a little disappointed with Allegiant. I agree with almost all of your points, it was really rushed. Although, I was really moved by Tris’ death, after all she had gone through she died proving she was her parents’ child. She was divergent in that moment, selfish and brave. But, I wish Roth had made it more of a big deal. Thanks for including my review! 🙂

What are your thoughts? (Comments are moderated. Yours will be up as soon as I read it!)

