Quick Thoughts: “The Disreputable History of Frankie Landau-Banks “

“The Disreputable History of Frankie Landau-Banks” by E. Lockhart

Genre: Young Adult Fiction, Contemporary Fiction

Source: Bought

Summary from Goodeads:

Frankie Landau-Banks at age 14:
Debate Club.
Her father’s “bunny rabbit.”
A mildly geeky girl attending a highly competitive boarding school.

Frankie Landau-Banks at age 15:
A knockout figure.
A sharp tongue.
A chip on her shoulder.
And a gorgeous new senior boyfriend: the supremely goofy, word-obsessed Matthew Livingston.

Frankie Landau-Banks.
No longer the kind of girl to take “no” for an answer.
Especially when “no” means she’s excluded from her boyfriend’s all-male secret society.
Not when her ex-boyfriend shows up in the strangest of places.
Not when she knows she’s smarter than any of them.
When she knows Matthew’s lying to her.
And when there are so many, many pranks to be done.

Frankie Landau-Banks, at age 16:
Possibly a criminal mastermind.

This is the story of how she got that way.

review

  • Frankie is smart and strong. Lockheart really has a knack for writing protagonists that I love. (Ruby Oliver was also pretty great.)
  • Love the pranks. Frankie was brilliant about getting away with it.
  • Let’s be realistic, the pranks are pretty ridiculous but the ideas behind the pranks are what brings it back to reality. Frankie was sick of everyone overlooking her just because she’s a girl. With a little planning, she was able to pull off some of the greatest pranks the school has ever seen.
  • Boarding school settings are so much fun. They always sound fun and it’s the easiest way to get parents out of the picture without killing them.
  • The narration style was a bit iffy but mostly enjoyable. It was toeing the line of pretentious but thankfully it stayed fun through the story.

The bottom line? Pranks and Girl Power? What’s not to have fun with?

10 thoughts on “Quick Thoughts: “The Disreputable History of Frankie Landau-Banks “

  1. I read this bad last year. Or maybe the year before. And I really liked it at first. But when I look back on it now, my feeling are really mixed. I don’t really remember many details, but I don’t really care for the fact that Frankie acts different from other girls, and that’s what makes her special. I don’t know, I could be so wrong in thinking this. Like I said, it’s been ages since I read this.

    I did really like the first Ruby Oliver book, though.

    • I thought her specialness was a bit cliche but I still had fun with it.

      Have you read the rest of the Ruby Oliver books yet? I highly recommend them if you want some fun books to read. 😀

  2. “Toeing the line of pretentious” is a perfect description of what I felt about this book. I enjoyed it quite a bit, but haven’t picked up anything else by the author because I have concerns about her crossing the line into pretentiousness. Or into cutesiness, which was also a risk at times with Frankie Landau-Banks.

    • I’ve read a few things by her and so far this is the only book that has a slightly pretentious tone to it. The Ruby Oliver books are much more down to Earth and Ruby actually seems like a girl you would know.

  3. Pingback: If You Like…TV Edition Part 3 | The Cheap Reader

What are your thoughts? (Comments are moderated. Yours will be up as soon as I read it!)

