Quick Thoughts: “How To Train Your Dragon”

“How To Train Your Dragon (How To Train Your Dragon #1)” by  Cressida Cowell

Genre: Children’s/Middle Grade Fiction, Fantasy

Source: Library

Other How To Train Your Dragon books

Summary from Goodreads:

Chronicles the adventures and misadventures of Hiccup Horrendous Haddock III as he tries to pass the important initiation test of his Viking clan, the Tribe of the Hairy Hooligans, by catching and training a dragon.

review

  • I had really high hopes for this book. I saw the movie not too long ago and really enjoyed it. Unfortunately the book didn’t live up to my expectations.
  • I liked the drawings!
  • The humor was okay for the age group but I didn’t love it.
  • I hate to judge the book based on the movie but the different storyline really jolted me. I was looking forward to seeing how Hiccup and Toothless evolved as a team. We really didn’t get that with the book.
  • There were hints given about the dragons but nothing was fully explored. We got quick rundowns on different breeds of dragons. We got to ‘hear’ dragonese. The story could have used a lot more of those elements.

The bottom line? I’d opt to watch the movie and read the book only if you’re really interested.

5 thoughts on “Quick Thoughts: “How To Train Your Dragon”

  1. I haven’t read this, but it’s really popular at the library. I saw the movie awhile ago, and actually really liked it. I have heard that the book is different from the movie. I’m sorry you were let down.

  2. Pingback: The Movie Was Better | The Cheap Reader

What are your thoughts? (Comments are moderated. Yours will be up as soon as I read it!)

