Emma Read-A-Long Part One

Part 1: Part 1 -Chapters 1-9

Wow, right off the bat I can see why Emma is one of Austen’s least likable heroines. One of her good friends gets married and all Emma can worry about is how she lost her friend. The type A personality is definitely shining though. Obviously I wasn’t a fan of how the whole Martin/Harriet situation went down. I didn’t see enough of Mr. Martin to make full judgement of him but he was quite nice from what I did see. Emma’s backhanded tactics were really annoying.

Oh my goodness, I love Mr. Knightley. He doesn’t hesitate to let Emma hear it like it is. That’s the type of friend that everyone needs one of. Emma most definitely needs one. For the most part I really appreciated how honest he was. I didn’t like how he handled the Martin/Harriet situation though. I did like that stood up to Emma about it but I didn’t like the fact that he had to bring up Harriet’s flaws/problems. It seemed a bit cruel.

Mr. Woodhouse and Isabella aer very needed in the story. Emma can definitely be offputting so seeing her love for the two of them makes Emma more tolerable. Harriet is likeable enough. She’s very sweet but I wish she’d get a bit more backbone. She’s too dependent on Emma for my taste. Mrs. Weston and Mr. Elton are nice enough but I haven’t seen enough of them to make a full judgement.

The story is moving along nicely. I can already sense a problem coming. Mr. Elton’s affection is bit open-ended. I can see why readers and characters would be unsure of who he has feelings for.

Emma Approved

We’re introduced to all the main characters. Emma’s high strung personality shines through. I think she’s a bit more likeable on film for me. I like the change of Knightley to a younger man. It makes his and Emma’s friendship seem more natural. Harriet’s sweetness comes across very well on video. You can fully see her youthfulness. I like Martin a lot more on video. We actually get to see him more and see why he and Harriet would be a good match.

I don’t like that we have Emma’s dad and sister in the series. Like I said above, they mellow Emma out. They would be a great addition to the web series.

What are your thoughts on the story so far?

Read my thoughts on other installments of the book.

6 thoughts on “Emma Read-A-Long Part One

  1. I liked Emma at first. She is clearly selfish, but she’s also bubbly and optimistic. I thought every scene with her cheering up her father was so funny! However, once we get to the Martin/Harriet situation, I agree that she becomes quite unlikeable. I hope things work out for that couple anyway! It also becomes clear that Emma is very flighty about her academic pursuits. I hope she listens to Mr. Knightley. He’s much more aware of what’s actually going on, I think 🙂

  2. Aw, you don’t like Emma? I mean, I guess she’s unlikeable, but I get a kick out of her anyway. Does it help at all if you imagine it’s Alicia Silverstone? I saw Clueless before I read Emma, and I think it made me like her better as a heroine.

    • I don’t know if I dislike her. She’s a bit difficult to like in the beginning for me but I’m slowly growing to like her more as I see her. Ha! I love that suggestion. I need to do that when I sit down to read again. 😀

  3. I love that you are reading Emma along with watching Emma Approved. I really have no desire to read any Jane Austen, but I do enjoy the web series, so it is fun to see your commentary!

    • It’s fun! I should have timed it better though. I think we’ll be wrapping up right around the time it starts back. Oh well, at least I can appreciate the series more now!

What are your thoughts? (Comments are moderated. Yours will be up as soon as I read it!)

