Book Review: “Hyperbole and a Half”

“Hyperbole and a Half: Unfortunate Situations, Flawed Coping Mechanisms, Mayhem, and Other Things That Happened “ by Allie Brosh

Genre: Adult Non-Fiction, Biography, Humor

GoodreadsSource: Library

Summary from Goodreads:

This is a book I wrote. Because I wrote it, I had to figure out what to put on the back cover to explain what it is. I tried to write a long, third-person summary that would imply how great the book is and also sound vaguely authoritative–like maybe someone who isn’t me wrote it–but I soon discovered that I’m not sneaky enough to pull it off convincingly. So I decided to just make a list of things that are in the book:Pictures
Words
Stories about things that happened to me
Stories about things that happened to other people because of me
Eight billion dollars*
Stories about dogs
The secret to eternal happiness*
*These are lies. Perhaps I have underestimated my sneakiness!

review

I discovered Brosh’s blog a while back. Like many others, I loved it. It was hilarious and relateable. I was obviously excited that she got a book deal out of the situation.The book lived up to my expectations. About half of the book was old material. The old material is gold. It’s what got me hooked on her work to begin with.

Some of my favorites? “The Simple Dog”, “The God of Cake”, “This is Why I’ll Never be an Adult”, and “The Party.” Like all things the new material was a bit hit or miss. “Lost in the Woods” and “Dinosaur (The Goose Story)” were fantastic.

While this book is a humorous book, Brosh definitely does deal with some tough subjects. The 2 part section on depression is enlightening. I’ve never heard of depression described like that but I totally understand it. The 2 part identity section was also interesting. Brosh talks about what many people feel. Our identities are tied into what we do, what think we’d do in a situation, how other people are, etc. She’s quite open about how ‘bad’ she is and it’s refreshing to know I’m not the only one like that!

The bottom line? Hilarious!


I read this as part of my Reading Outside the Box Challenge. This was for my Biography/Memoir square. See my progress here.reading outside the box

 

 

7 thoughts on “Book Review: “Hyperbole and a Half”

  1. I ALMOST bought this last night, but stupid Wal-Mart (at least here) doesn’t give discounts on all their books any more. I figured if it was full price I would rather wait and support a bookstore… (Which I should anyway…)

  2. Hyperbole and a Half was one of those blogs that I stayed up all night reading post after post until they were all done because it was that good. So I’d definitely like to get to the book at some point, if only because it is sure to be a funny and quick read.

  3. I was so surprised at the section where she talks about how “bad” she is. It sounds…I don’t know, super normal? It sounds like she’s exactly as “bad” as the majority of the population — like she has mean impulses, and she resists them because that is how we get society to function. Or maybe I am just saying that because I, too, have had the urge to throw sand at children. :p

    • I thought it sounded pretty normal as well. I think it’s one of those things that sounds really terrible but a lot of people do it (even if we don’t talk about it).

What are your thoughts? (Comments are moderated. Yours will be up as soon as I read it!)

