Book Review: “Unremembered”

“Unremembered (Unremembered #1)” by Jessica Brody

Genre: Young Adult Fiction, Science Fiction

Source: Bought

Other Unremembered books

Summary from Goodreads:

When Freedom Airlines flight 121 went down over the Pacific Ocean, no one ever expected to find survivors. Which is why the sixteen-year-old girl discovered floating among the wreckage—alive—is making headlines across the globe.

Even more strange is that her body is miraculously unharmed and she has no memories of boarding the plane. She has no memories of her life before the crash. She has no memories period. No one knows how she survived. No one knows why she wasn’t on the passenger manifest. And no one can explain why her DNA and fingerprints can’t be found in a single database in the world.

Crippled by a world she doesn’t know, plagued by abilities she doesn’t understand, and haunted by a looming threat she can’t remember, Seraphina struggles to piece together her forgotten past and discover who she really is. But with every clue only comes more questions. And she’s running out of time to answer them.

Her only hope is a strangely alluring boy who claims to know her from before the crash. Who claims they were in love. But can she really trust him? And will he be able to protect her from the people who have been making her forget?

Review

After hearing Brody talk about the book on the Fierce Reads tour I knew I needed to give this book a try. She pitched it as The Bourne Identity meets Inception. How does that not sound awesome?! For the most part I do think the book lives up to that pitch.

For about 3/4 ths of the book it reads like a thriller/mystery. It was a really refreshing change for me. Information was leaked a bit at a time. It gave you just enough time to think about it but it still wasn’t enough for you to figure out what was going on. You couldn’t put the book down because you were so close to figuring out what was going on.

Zen was likeable enough but I wasn’t totally on board with him. I think my problem with him was you were almost supposed to like him from the beginning. I need to warm up to love interests. Show me why they’re likeable. Let me see them grow over time. Unfortunately we couldn’t do that with Zen because Sera has technically already fallen for him. We see snippets of their lives before but it’s not enough for me to be totally on board with the romance.

Sera was more likeable for me. Even though she’s special, she still feels normal. She has all these cool ‘powers’ but she has no clue what to do with them. She doesn’t thrive on all the attention she’s getting. She just wants to know who she is and live her life without people bothering her.

Even though the book was largely a thriller/mystery, it had just enough science fiction in it to keep me happy. I was really intrigued by all the science fiction in the story. Time travel is always interesting to read about because there is no right way to do it. Brody’s take on time travel is it comes from a gene. Since the travel relies on something as ‘simple’ as a gene, it means most anyone can do it. Well assuming you can get your hands on the gene you can do it. Then there’s the idea of mixing in running away with time travel. You have ALL of time to escape to. It was really cool to see that the bad guys only caught up with them if they were captured by something concrete (photo, internet, etc) because the bad guys could find them in the future.

The bottom line? I wouldn’t say the book was perfect but the excitement made up for any shortcomings.

6 thoughts on “Book Review: “Unremembered”

  1. Will you be continuing with the series? I read this book at the back end of 2013 and I gave it 3/5 stars. It was good and had original ideas but to me it felt quite rushed, and it just didn’t grip me enough to make me want to carry on with the next book..

    • Possibly. The ideas of the book were interesting enough for me to at least try the next book. Let’s hope the library gets a copy while everything is somewhat fresh in my mind.

  2. This sounds like an interesting idea. I’m a little concerned about the idea of time travel being caused by a gene because I just don’t see that being explained scientifically, but I’m curious enough that I might read this to find out 🙂

What are your thoughts? (Comments are moderated. Yours will be up as soon as I read it!)

