Book Review: “Bunnicula”

“Bunnicula (Bunnicula #1)” by Deborah and James Howe

Genre: Children’s Fiction, Mystery

Other Bunnicula Books

GoodreadsSource: Library

Summary from Goodreads:

Before it’s too late, Harold the dog and Chester the cat must find out the truth about the newest pet in the Monroe household — a suspicious-looking bunny with unusual habits…and fangs!

review

Would you believe I’ve never read this until now? I decided I needed to change that ASAP as the Halloween season is here and I know I will be bombarded with scary book recommendations for kids. Now Bunnicula isn’t really scary but it’s definitely a great Halloween-y book for kids. It’s about a bunny vampire!

I really loved that it was a smart book. I was fully expecting it to be ridiculous and over the top but it wasn’t. The book was narrated by the dog but Harold was intelligent. I guess it helps that he comes from an intelligent family. He didn’t oversimplify the story for the reader. There were a lot of good elements of vampire stories in book. Some of the things might go over kid’s heads but when and if they seek out other vampire books in the future, they might understand things more.

The story is mysterious and it’s a perfect level of mystery. There’s also a good deal of humor in the book. I was literally laughing out loud while reading. Harold and Chester were pretty good characters. The authors did a great job of developing them in a very short amount of time.

The bottom line? Great story for all ages!

6 thoughts on “Book Review: “Bunnicula”

  1. I LOVED this book as a 5th grader! I can’t believe you are just now reading it, but that’s kind of awesome too. I need to reread some of my old favs like this one and see how they measure up to the memories. This book will always remind me of my teacher who read it aloud to our class. I love bookish memories 🙂

  2. Bunnicula is one of my favorite books! I don’t usually like animal stories (where the animals tell the story) but Bunnicula is the exception. I recommend this to kids all the time – especially to third-graders.

    I’m so glad you liked it, Alison!

What are your thoughts? (Comments are moderated. Yours will be up as soon as I read it!)

