Book Review: “Diary of a Wimpy Kid”

“Diary of a Wimpy Kid (Diary of a Wimpy Kid #1)” by Jeff Kinney

Genre: Children’s Fiction, Middle Grade Fiction, Humor

GoodreadsOther Diary of a Wimpy Kid books

Source: Library

Summary from Goodreads:

Boys don’t keep diaries—or do they?

The launch of an exciting and innovatively illustrated new series narrated by an unforgettable kid every family can relate to

It’s a new school year, and Greg Heffley finds himself thrust into middle school, where undersized weaklings share the hallways with kids who are taller, meaner, and already shaving. The hazards of growing up before you’re ready are uniquely revealed through words and drawings as Greg records them in his diary.

In book one of this debut series, Greg is happy to have Rowley, his sidekick, along for the ride. But when Rowley’s star starts to rise, Greg tries to use his best friend’s newfound popularity to his own advantage, kicking off a chain of events that will test their friendship in hilarious fashion.

review

I’ve known about this book for a long time but never had a lot of interest in it. I really thought it was going to have way too much “boy” humor in it (body function jokes, etc). I decided take it head on because I need to get hip with tweens for work.

I’m happy to report that overall this book isn’t overly ‘boyish’ like I was expecting. A lot of the issues Greg deals with are things I could relate to. He deals with siblings who are big pains, trying to fit in at school, making sure his friends don’t embarrass him, and trying to survive the year. There was a good number of things that actually make me laugh out loud. [My favorite was Greg trying to make his friend understand that they don’t “play” at each others house any more. They “hang out”. I’m pretty sure I’ve had that talk before.]

I did find the book to be funny but unfortunately Greg was definitely a jerk at times. He did put himself into some bad situations but I hoped he would make the right decisions. It’s probably expecting too much for a book that’s supposed to be funny. Oh well, at least it gives his character potential to grow in the series.

The bottom line? Surprisingly enjoyable!

What are your thoughts? (Comments are moderated. Yours will be up as soon as I read it!)

