Dabbling in Non-Fiction

I’ve always said that when I had more time to read I’d like to try branch out and try to read other types of books. I’ve been out of school for a few years now so I guess it’s time to do so! As you can clearly see I’m a fan of fiction. I’m totally fine with that. I don’t think that will ever change but I’m thinking I would like to dip my toes into the world of non-fiction. As usual, I’d love to hear your input!

What are your non-fiction recommendations? I just have a few guidelines or suggestions about what I enjoy.

  • Something easy to read. I’ve steered away from non-fiction because it seems to be dry and boring.
  • No super academic books. I’ve read them before and I don’t enjoy them.
  • Ideally something that reads like fiction (at least just to start out with).
  • I do enjoy historical fiction so history might be interesting to read about.
  • Funny! Funny books are always good.
  • I like books about books as well.

What do you recommend? What are your favorite non-fiction books?

8 thoughts on “Dabbling in Non-Fiction

  1. Mary Roach is wonderful. Her books cover slightly taboo subjects (corpses, sex, digestion start to finish) and are laugh out loud funny. _Stiff_ is a personal favorite. 😀

  2. I really enjoyed Six Wives (about the wives of Henry VIII) and The Black Count (about Dumas pere who inspired the characters in The Tree Musketeers and The Count of Monte Cristo). Both read like stories and had lots of drama and adventure 🙂 I’d also recommend anything by Mitchell Zuckoff since his books read like fiction. And for something funny, I’ve loved humorous memoirs lately, including How To Be a Woman and Bossypants. I’m love non-fiction and am excited to see what you decide to read 🙂

  3. I love Steve Sheinkin. He writes nonfiction for teens. The Notorious Benecit Arnold and Bomb: The Race to Build – and Steal – the World’s Most Dangerous Weapon are both very entertaining, and they’ve won a bunch of awards!

    Also, Charles & Emma: The Darwins’ Leap of Faith by Deborah Heiligman. Its a biography about the Darwins, focusing on how Charles and Emma had very different views on religion, but they both still managed to respect each others opinions, and they created a loving relationship. Another award winner.

    And, in the adult arena – Marley and Me is very funny. The ending is a bit sad, but it’s worth it.

What are your thoughts? (Comments are moderated. Yours will be up as soon as I read it!)

