Movie Review: “Hook”

“Hook”

Source: Netflix

Summary from IMDB:

When Capt. Hook kidnaps his children, an adult Peter Pan must return to Neverland and reclaim his youthful spirit in order to challenge his old enemy.

Review

I like that the story embraced the fact that Peter Pan was a story. It’s always weird to me to when stories take place in our world but don’t acknowledge this piece of media that it engraved into our culture.

Robin Williams! I always love him in the family movies. He’s one of the few people who could fully take on the childlike nature of Peter Pan.

The scenery was awesome. Seriously, major kudos to those set builders. I could stare at it for hours.

Action scenes were absolutely on par for the audience. They were fun. They were filled with action without being overly violent.

Incorporated lots from the book: Hook destroying the Lost Boys underground home, Peter being responsible for Hook’s hook, Hook’s fear of crocodiles, Peter coming back as Wendy got older.

The premise of the story is very intriguing. Peter Pan is the boy who never grows up. What in the world is he doing as an adult?! Despite that the movie ended up being a bit predictable: Peter grows up to be a workaholic who has no fun, his children are kidnapped, he must get back to his roots to save them.

The bottom line? It was fun!

Find more classics and their retellings here:

ClassicsRetold

8 thoughts on “Movie Review: “Hook”

  1. I remember Alisa showed this to me a few holidays ago for the first time as part of a Peter Pan weakestthon and I thought it was beyond cute. Williams is full of energy and definitely makes sense as Peter and the child actors are generally pretty decent.

    Definitely one of the better Pan-related movies out there!

  2. I like this movie too. I remember I actually saw it in the theater when it came out and I didn’t really enjoy it at that age. As I have gotten older I like it a lot more.

What are your thoughts? (Comments are moderated. Yours will be up as soon as I read it!)

