15 Day Book Blogging Challenge: Day 14

April at Good Books and Good Wine came up with this fun challenge. I’ve been seeing it pop up all over my reader so I knew I had to try my hand at it. You can check out the full details here.Day 14: Tell us your deal breakers

In books? That should be easy enough.

  • Protagonists that completely rely on other people to save them. I can understand needing help from other people occasionally but when you can’t do anything for yourself, there’s a bit of a problem.
  • Bad world building. I know creating a new world has got to be hard and inevitably some aspects might be overlooked. But I shouldn’t be able to find TONS of flaws in the world and wonder how the world is still functioning.
  • Love triangles. They are the worst.
  • Instalove.
  • Actually pretty much all romances annoy me except those that are the super slow burn ones.  {Think Graceling}
  • Books that are unnecessarily stretched into a series. I hate going into a book thinking it’s a stand alone and finding out it’s a series.
  • Too much description. I really don’t need to know how every single thing looks.
  • Infodumping. Yes, I need all that information but I don’t need it all in one chapter.

What are your deal breakers?

What are your thoughts? (Comments are moderated. Yours will be up as soon as I read it!)

