DNF: “Finnikin of the Rock”

“Finnikin of the Rock (Lumatere Chronicles #1)” by Melina Marchetta

Genre: Young Adult Fiction, Fantasy

GoodreadsSource: Bought

Summary from Goodreads:

Finnikin of the Rock and his guardian, Sir Topher, have not been home to their beloved Lumatere for ten years. Not since the dark days when the royal family was murdered and the kingdom put under a terrible curse. But then Finnikin is summoned to meet Evanjalin, a young woman with an incredible claim: the heir to the throne of Lumatere, Prince Balthazar, is alive.

Evanjalin is determined to return home and she is the only one who can lead them to the heir. As they journey together, Finnikin is affected by her arrogance . . . and her hope. He begins to believe he will see his childhood friend, Prince Balthazar, again. And that their cursed people will be able to enter Lumatere and be reunited with those trapped inside. He even believes he will find his imprisoned father.

But Evanjalin is not what she seems. And the truth will test not only Finnikin’s faith in her . . . but in himself.

Review

Stopped at 47%

  • It took me over a month to read a little over half of this book. That’s not a good sign.
  • I really didn’t like any of the characters.
  • Evanjalin was too backstabby for me. She turned Finnikin into jail? Yes, it helped him get hit father out but I still didn’t like it.
  • Froi’s a thief. That just turned me off of him from the beginning. Nothing happened so far to redeem him for me.
  • Finnikin had potential for me. He feels guilty about what happened to Prince Balthazar and he’s trying to find the prince in an effort to redeem himself? Unfortunately he met up with a prostitute pretty early in the story for absolutely no reason. That turned me off pretty much right away.
  • I literally have no idea what’s going on in the story. I know someone killed the royal family years ago but they might still be alive. …And that’s all I got. It doesn’t help that the language and style is hard for me to read. I’ll read for a few pages and still not be sure about what I read. Because I have no idea what’s going on, I really don’t care about the characters or what’s going on. That’s a very bad sign for a book.

The bottom line? High fantasy like this is NOT for me and I should really stop trying to read it.

12 thoughts on “DNF: “Finnikin of the Rock”

  1. Haha, it seems you have to be high to get the whole beauty of high fantasy xD
    So far I didn’t like anything of high fantasy, except for The Song of Ice and Fire (is it a high fantasy already? isn’t ?)
    And I hate it to read and don’t understand what am I reading about. Every time I want to ask author what the fuck was he thinking about when he wrote this? I mean, if you publish a book, that means you want readers to understand what you are talking about, right? So WTF dude????
    I have very same book standing in my shelve. Though I have finished it. So yeah, I know that someone died, but then he came back to life but as a semi god. And then it seems to be he IS a real god, but then again not.. And there is a huuuge plan…
    One time I wanted to re-read it, because I thought maybe the real problem was my German and not the book. But then I thought how many interesting books are out there and how little time I have for readinf and after that I thought no fucking way, haha xD
    Probably I should learn to give up the book if I have this special feeling that it sucks.

    • Yes, Game of Thrones books are high fantasy. I know those are too far out there for me.

      I’ve never understood that either. I read for fun. I don’t want to have to think too hard to understand what’s being said.

      • Game of Thrones rocks! Thought I have got a little tired of it because it is like a very real reality show with billion of characters.. Hopefully I will find forces in myself to finish it, haha

  2. Aw, I’m sorry that you didn’t enjoy this! I really loved this book and the next (which is all about Froi!) I think there is a lot going on in this book, and the characters are quite complex because there’s so many sides to them and not all good. I have yet to read Melina Marchetta’s contemporary works, but I hope to try them out soon because they look really interesting. 🙂 Maybe they will suit you better!

  3. I’ve had this book on my to-read list for the longest time and it’s interesting to hear you didn’t finish. I too, have seen this everywhere and now I’m very curious to see what I think of it!!

  4. I loved this one… but had major problems with a lot of the characters. Especially Froi… which is why I haven’t read his book yet. Finnikin was pretty redeemable to me, but it took me a while to really warm up to him. I hope you check out some of Marchetta’s other books… they take a little while to get into, but are absolutely wonderful!

What are your thoughts? (Comments are moderated. Yours will be up as soon as I read it!)

