Book Review: “The Boyfriend List”

“The Boyfriend List: 15 Guys, 11 Shrink Appointments, 4 Ceramic Frogs and Me, Ruby Oliver (Ruby Oliver #1)” by E. Lockhart

Genre: Young Adult Fiction, Contemporary Fiction

Source: Library

GoodreadsOther Ruby Oliver Books

Summary from Goodreads:

Fifteen-year-old Ruby has had a rough ten days. During that time she:

   * lost her boyfriend (#13 on the list)
   * lost her best friend (Kim)
   * lost all her other friends (Nora, Cricket)
   * did something suspicious with a boy (#10)
   * did something advanced with a boy (#15)
   * had an argument with a boy (#14)
   * had a panic attack
   * lost a lacrosse game (she’s the goalie)
   * failed a math test (she’ll make it up)
   * hurt Meghan’s feelings (even though they aren’t really friends)
   * became a social outcast (no one to sit with at lunch)
   * had graffiti written about her in the girls’ bathroom (who knows what was in the boys’!?!)

But don’t worry–Ruby lives to tell the tale. And make more lists.

review

-THIS is relatable contemporary YA fiction. Ruby is funny, smart, and very much an “every girl”. It’s easy to picture yourself in her shoes.

-I know I was a bit worried at the idea of Ruby having such a long boyfriend list at such a young age but once she explained it everything made more sense. The boyfriend list was just a list of every guy she ever had a ‘thing’ with however big or small.

-Lockhart’s portrayal of teenage boys was pretty spot on. I definitely had some awkward flashbacks to my high school days.

-Like I already said, Ruby is easy to relate to. I loved her to pieces and felt everything she was going through. I know I had to stop reading a few times because I felt her embarrassment and panic attacks.

-To a certain extent, I could get on board with boy book mentioned in the story. It’s always good to have rules when it comes to boys. I just couldn’t get past the fact that there was no rule about dating a friend’s boyfriend and dating them shortly after the first couple broke up. That goes against SO many of ‘girl rules’ out there. Why in the world did no one call Kim (and Jackson) out on that one?!

-Footnotes! I loved them. Yes, they took you away from the story but I didn’t mind too much.

The bottom line? I really loved the story.

6 thoughts on “Book Review: “The Boyfriend List”

  1. Yay I’, glad you read this!! It’s one of my favs. LOVE Ruby Oliver and all the other books are good too!! It made me mad that no one thought what Kim did was wrong too!! I mean HELLO you can’t just steal someones boyfriend and then get mad if the person still has feelings for him! It was so hypocritical. I wish all YA books were like this one… it’s so my style!!

    • THANK YOU! Stealing boyfriends should be the biggest no-no out there.
      This book was my style too. There definitely need to be more books like this.

What are your thoughts? (Comments are moderated. Yours will be up as soon as I read it!)

