15 Day Book Blogging Challenge: Day 1

April at Good Books and Good Wine came up with this fun challenge. I’ve been seeing it pop up all over my reader so I knew I had to try my hand at it. You can check out the full details here.Day 1: Make 15 book related confessions

  1. I don’t have an organization system for my books at the moment and it drives me crazy! I only have a bedroom at the moment so I have to stick my books anywhere they fit.
  2. I really suck at audiobooks. I like the idea of them but I really don’t have the time to listen to them. As a result it takes me months and months to get through an audiobook.
  3. I fail at recommending books in person. I work in a library so I do get asked to give suggestions to parents and kids about books. I can never remember anything when the ask me. Of course once they’re gone and I’m not on the spot, I can think of many books. Doh.
  4. I usually have multiple books going at once. I don’t find it that confusing. Plus it’s nice to jump to another book if I’m not feeling a certain book at that moment.
  5. Working at a library is difficult sometimes because I find many awesome sounding books but I’ll never have time to read them all.
  6. It would take me months to read all the unread books that I own. That doesn’t stop me from buying more books and checking out books from the library.
  7. It drives me crazy to hear people argue about ebooks versus physical books. They’re both wonderful for different things and can coexist with no problems. Get over it people!
  8. I know I get into reading slumps because I stick with the same types of books. Yet I never really move out of that comfort zone.
  9. I do want to branch out with my reading but it’s difficult and a bit scary! I don’t have lots of reading time so I don’t want to waste it on books I might not like.
  10. It makes me sad that I read some children’s classics as an adult (Narnia, Peter Pan). I liked them well enough but they don’t have the same magic that they do for children.
  11. I liked TFIOS but I don’t quite get all the hype behind John Green. The books were enjoyable but they didn’t rock my socks off.
  12. I sometimes get ‘stressed’ from checking out too many books from the library. I try to read everything I check out but when I start to see a stack growing on my desk it really worries me.
  13. I have like 50+ series that I’ve started and haven’t finished. Eeek. I probably won’t finish most of them though.
  14. I’m finally okay with DNFing books. I don’t have time to read boring/bad books!
  15. I own 2 Kindles. One wasn’t enough for me! :p

Feel free to share your confessions or link me to yours!

14 thoughts on “15 Day Book Blogging Challenge: Day 1

  1. I am SO TEMPTED to get the new paperwhite Kindle, but, like, my old Kindle keyboard still works perfectly and there’s nothing wrong with it. But…shiny new things!! Le sigh.

  2. #2 – Seconded! I’m exactly the same. I keep getting them, but then I think I must lack the attention span or something because they NEVER get listened to.I just get distracted. Somebody suggested listening while cleaning though, so I might try that.

    #6 – I worked this out once. Taking into account my current reading rate, and assuming that I don’t reread or buy new books, it would take me 2.5 YEARS to get through my TBR. I try not to dwell on this too much…

    #11 – I’d actually go so far as to say that I DIDN’T like TFIOS. It could have just been the hype getting to me, but I really wasn’t impressed with it at all.

  3. My books are “organized” in the style of Tetris. Two avid readers in a one-bedroom apartment means that there just isn’t room for wasted space in my bookshelves.

  4. I sometimes feel the same way about not reading certain books as a child. Like as amazing as it was reading as an adult, I wish I could read it with a child’s mind and experience the magic it holds! I do make it a point to remember these books though so that if I ever have kids I can read to them!

  5. What you feel about recommending books on the spot is the same as when I am asked what books I’ve read this year/lately/ever, once I have some time to think about it I can talk all about the books I’ve read but on the stop my brain gets stage fright.

  6. I’m with you on 8 and 9… there are so many books I really am interested in and want to read that it is hard to justify reading something else that I am less likely to enjoy!

What are your thoughts? (Comments are moderated. Yours will be up as soon as I read it!)

