Book Review: “An Abundance of Katherines”

“An Abundance of Katherines” by John Green

Genre: Young Adult Fiction, Contemporary Fiction

GoodreadsSource: Library

Other John Green book reviews

Summary from Goodreads:

Katherine V thought boys were gross
Katherine X just wanted to be friends
Katherine XVIII dumped him in an e-mail
K-19 broke his heart
When it comes to relationships, Colin Singleton’s type happens to be girls named Katherine. And when it comes to girls named Katherine, Colin is always getting dumped. Nineteen times, to be exact.

On a road trip miles from home, this anagram-happy, washed-up child prodigy has ten thousand dollars in his pocket, a bloodthirsty feral hog on his trail, and an overweight, Judge Judy-loving best friend riding shotgun–but no Katherines. Colin is on a mission to prove The Theorem of Underlying Katherine Predictability, which he hopes will predict the future of any relationship, avenge Dumpees everywhere, and finally win him the girl. Love, friendship, and a dead Austro-Hungarian archduke add up to surprising and heart-changing conclusions in this ingeniously layered comic novel about reinventing oneself.

review

I had such high hopes for this book. I had recently read The Fault In Our Stars so I had hope that Green’s other books would be as awesome. So far? Not so much.

One of the things that really bugged me was the lack of Katherines. Colin dated 19 of them. I was certain that they’d play a big role in the story. I was disappointed that the story ended up being more focused on one Katherine and made small, passing references at the other ones.

Colin and Hassan’s was the only relationship that I really felt. You could see and feel how good of friends they are. They care about each other but they also know how to piss each other off. I didn’t feel Colin and Katherine 19 at all. Yes, I know that her story is told in flashbacks but there was nothing to make me like her or root for them. The people of Gunshot were nice enough but they didn’t really make a lasting impression on me.

Despite my annoyances with the story, it was an enjoyable book. It was a quick read for me and was easy to get lost in. I laughed a bit. Basically it was just what I needed at the time.

The bottom line? Enjoyable but not loveable.

10 thoughts on “Book Review: “An Abundance of Katherines”

  1. Awww, sorry this was a little bit of let down. I check checked out the audiobook on Wednesday. I’ve only read two John Green Books: TFIOS and Paper Towns. I’ve liked them both.

  2. I actually really enjoyed this one when I read it (back when it came out and I was still the target audience…). I’m sure if I went back and reread it today I’d find the focus of the novel a bit weird too, but I definitely didn’t feel a distance from the characters at any point. True, they felt more like characters than actual living people, but it felt like each got the screen time and care he/she deserved within the context of the novel as a whole. And I really liked all the footnotes and fake math. Definitely light, definitely fun.

  3. I can agree with that! I really didn’t connect with Colin at all and felt like he was kind of whiny…. And the fact that the Katherines didn’t play a huge significance in the book really bothered me. Why not? That’s half the point of the book and I felt like that should have been talked about more.
    I think I would have liked this story a lot more from Lindsay’s POV. Not because of the female perspective but because she had so much more of a story than Colin and Hassan did. It was her town and we got all the background from her. Just my personal opinion! I would have liked to hear her story about the two wacky strangers who came into town and she discovers a whole lot more LOL.

  4. This is the only John Green novel I have read… I remember liking it. But honestly it was years ago. It must’ve not been that memorable since I can’t really remember it all.

  5. Of all of his books, I’ve seen the most variety in reviews of this one. Some people love it, and for others it just doesn’t work. I haven’t read this one, but I do really enjoy his other books, and he seems awesome in general. Thanks for the honest review 🙂

What are your thoughts? (Comments are moderated. Yours will be up as soon as I read it!)

