Book Review: “The Runaway King”

“The Runaway King (The Ascendance Trilogy #2)” by Jennifer A. Nielsen

Genre: Young Adult Fiction, Fantasy

GoodreadsSource: Library

Other Ascendance Trilogy books

Summary from Goodreads:

Just weeks after Jaron has taken the throne, an assassination attempt forces him into a deadly situation. Rumors of a coming war are winding their way between the castle walls, and Jaron feels the pressure quietly mounting within Carthya. Soon, it becomes clear that deserting the kingdom may be his only hope of saving it. But the further Jaron is forced to run from his identity, the more he wonders if it is possible to go too far. Will he ever be able to return home again? Or will he have to sacrifice his own life in order to save his kingdom?

review

Ahhhh, Sage/Jaron got on my nerves (again) in this book with his recklessness.  If there was a stupid and/or foolish decision to any choice he had to make, you know which one he made. To me, that’s just infuriating. I like him and I don’t want him to put himself in danger. I did really appreciate the fact that he was a good king. He literally was going to do anything for his people. That’s pretty impressive. I don’t know how many people would be willing do that for their people.

I was a little thrown off by Jaron’s ridiculousness. I completely understand how people can push themselves to extremes in certain circumstances. But I have a really hard time believing that a teen with a broken leg is able to climb up a cliff and then is able to challenge someone to a sword fight. That is way too out there for me.

Despite those annoyances I did enjoy this story. The story picks up not too long after the first book ended. You can feel the tension building. Jaron is having to deal with people outside of his kingdom not being happy with him a king as well as his own people not quite trusting him.

The story was well paced and easy to get lost in. It didn’t feel too much like a second story. It wasn’t just a rehashing of book one. There was substance to this story. That was appreciated.

The bottom line? I had a few annoyances with the story but I still enjoyed it.

What are your thoughts? (Comments are moderated. Yours will be up as soon as I read it!)

