BHA: “Pride and Prejudice”

Hello fellow readers! For the next 2 months we’ll be reading “Pride and Prejudice” by Jane Austen

 “Pride and Prejudice” by Jane Austen

Summary from Goodreads:

Vanity, not love, has been my folly

When Elizabeth Bennet first meets eligible bachelor Fitzwilliam Darcy, she thinks him arrogant and conceited, while he struggles to remain indifferent to her good looks and lively mind. When she later discovers that Darcy has involved himself in the troubled relationship between his friend Bingley and her beloved sister Jane, she is determined to dislike him more than ever. In the sparkling comedy of manners that follows, Jane Austen shows the folly of judging by first impressions and superbly evokes the friendships, gossip and snobberies of provincial middle-class life.

How to Participate:

Read “Pride and Prejudice”

Optional:

Come back to this post to discuss the story as you’re reading. Leave a link to your thoughts. Watch (and review) adaptions of the book. Whatever you’d like to do!

Happy reading!

I’m thinking this will be the last meeting of BHA. I enjoy reading most of the books but no one really reads along with me any more. That kind of defeats the purpose of an online book club!

My review

14 thoughts on “BHA: “Pride and Prejudice”

  1. About BHA: I think Yours/our problem is, that one book each two months is way too much. Not everyone is a speed reader just like you are and I don’t think I gonna be wrong if I say everyone already has a bunch of books on personal wishlist he/she would love to read but doesn’t find time to. So the choice is easy.
    But I do want the BHA to stay. My offer is to change terms, I think it gonna work way better if we choose a book not for month or so, but for 3-4. So that everyone could find time for it without need to sacrifice himself to keep BHA alive.
    And I think it wouldn’t hurt if we all discuss what kind of books we all would like to read and make a compromise. Because so far there were only books I am not going to spend my time for and as you have noticed other also are not that happy about monthly picks up

    • Thanks for sharing your thoughts! 🙂

      I think the biggest problem is I don’t have many readers. I know I only have 15-20 regular readers (people who stop by on a regular basis). Of those regular readers only a few were really interested in even doing the book club. You’re definitely right about the time though. That’s why I stretched the time to 2 months.

      Life keeps me really busy. Finding time to write this blog is hard enough and then throwing in a book club on top of it? It’s a bit too much right now.

      • I think it doesn’t really matter if you have lots of BHA members or only a few of them, so far these few are active. It is all about quality of discussion not about quantity, right?
        Yeah, I can understand you, as you can see I even have closed my own blog ;))
        Oh well, whatever you are going to do with your BHA, let me know if you are about to read something like HP or PJ, I will read it then too. Let’s make our very small BHA about Young Adult Fantasy xP

  2. Oh my gosh, P&P is the best book ever! It’s a godo way to end your book club too, because, you know, it’s the best book ever 🙂

    I think you will like it. Jane Austen was quite funny, but not in a slapstick way. Her characters are great. I love Lizzie and Jane and Bingley, and most definitely DARCY! And the characters that are annoying are still great. Lydia and oh my gosh, Mr. Collins cracks me up.

    I can’t wait to hear what you think of P&P

  3. I’m about ~20 pages in so far. I’m liking it! It’s not dry and boring like how some classics can be. It’s also funny which I greatly appreciate!

  4. I would have loved to join you for this book, but I’m already committed to other books for the next few months. I understand it can be frustrating to organize a book club and have very little participation. Maybe a break over the summer would help you make a decision about whether to continue. But if you decide to read any other classics books in the future, I’m so there!

  5. I am a terrible, terrible BHA member! Life took off on me during June, July, and August, and I didn’t do anything I was supposed to in terms of blogging or book clubs! I am sorry to hear you’ll be stopping the book club, and I hope to see it back sometime (and I’ll see you for Classics Retold come September!) 🙂

    But…I will be giving my two cents for P&P anyway, a little late.

    I have read P&P three times now, and I love it to death. It’s one of my favorite books and is tied with Emma for my favorite Jane Austen novel. Besides the setting in the early Regency (I have a slight Regency Era obsession haha), my love for this novel is based on two main things. 1.) The simple comedy of it, and 2.) the element of character study. While I of course consider Mr. Darcy one of the most ideal men in the entire history of everything, I really just love how funny Jane Austen is. And I love seeing the interactions–romantic, friendly, and familial–that she comes up with. They all feel so real, yet the author’s satirical voice and critical opinions are throughout the book. I have to reiterate…I just lovelovelove it.

    • It’s okay, Julia. I was a terrible member as well.

      I really enjoyed getting to know her humor! I never thought of Austen as funny. Guess I’ve been wrong all along! 🙂

What are your thoughts? (Comments are moderated. Yours will be up as soon as I read it!)

