DNF: “Wuthering Heights”

“Wuthering Heights” by Emily Bronte

Genre: Adult Fiction, Classic

GoodreadsSource: Bought

Summary from Goodreads:

Heathcliff, an orphan, is raised by Mr. Earnshaw as one of his own children. Hindley, Mr. Earnshaw’s son, despises him, but his sister, wild Cathy, becomes Heathcliff’s constant companion, and he falls violently in love with her. When Cathy will not marry Heathcliff, his terrible vengeance ruins them all and carries over to a second generation but still their love will not die.

Review

Stopped on page 258.

  • I couldn’t do it. I really couldn’t finish this book. I read over half the book and hate it all.
  • Everyone was awful and miserable.
  • Cathy really bothered me. I hated that she was so oblivious. She was willing to marry someone she didn’t love just for power and money and left her friend, Heathcliff, out in the cold. I know some of that can be attributed to the time period but that really didn’t sit right with me.
  • Heathcliff was just plain off his rocker.
  • Oh MAN, this story was slow. I don’t mind a slow story if I’m enjoying the story.
  • I didn’t find anything enjoyable about the story.

The bottom line? I hated it. I probably shouldn’t have picked this for BHA.

BHAThis was read for BHA.

Stop by and share your thoughts!

11 thoughts on “DNF: “Wuthering Heights”

  1. Uh oh this makes me nervous. I was literally going to read this book next. I remember reading Jane Eyre and hating it but I thought I’d give this one a try. Now I’m scared.
    Thanks for the great review!

  2. Haha… my boyfriend and I have a running joke argument about the Bronte sisters. He maintains that their books are terrible. I maintain that their books were an important part of my childhood, and that I enjoyed them when I read them. At the same time, I’m half afraid that if I were to reread them I’d agree.

  3. Yeah, I saw the movie once of Wuthering Heights and hated it. And I know that movies are different from the books they’re based on, but I hated every one of the characters. There was no way I was going to spend time with these awful people.

    But yay that next month’s pick is P&P. There are lots of likable characters in that one. Actually, almost everyone has something kind of likable about them. ALMOST everyone. And the main character is awesome. She’s not perfect, of course, but still likable. And Jane Austen is quite funny in an subtle way.

    Anyway, I say good for you for trying to read Wuthering Heights.

  4. This makes me sad as I love the Bronte’s but I understand they are matter of taste and what changes one persons life is yawn inducing to another..but I want to say give Jane Eyre a chance..it is all about love and dignity..self-respect and a broken person finding her way in the world. It’s a beautiful story!

    • I’ll probably try Jane Eyre in the future. It sounds a lot more interesting to me anyway. 🙂 Plus I’m enjoying The Autobiography of Jane Eyre

What are your thoughts? (Comments are moderated. Yours will be up as soon as I read it!)

