Staff Picks (8)

Apparently May is brought to you by the letter “M”.

Maus by Art Spiegelman

Fantastic graphic novel. I know a graphic novel about the Holocaust using animals as characters seems….wrong on some level but the story really works.

A Monster Calls by Patrick Ness

Patrick Ness rocks at writing. This book is no different. Coping with death is always a difficult subject and this book sheds a little different light on the subject. Be forewarned, you will cry.

“The Monstrumologist” by Rick Yancey

This book has been on my mind a lot lately. Probably because my co-worker keeps talking to me about it and urging me to pick up the next book. It’s dark, gory, gruesome, and SO outside of my ‘normal’ books. That being said, it’s still an interesting book.

4 thoughts on “Staff Picks (8)

  1. I didn’t actually like Monstrumologist that much. I didn’t dislike it, but I’m sort of generally apathetic in the long run… which is weird, because most people seem to like it a lot more than me.

    But Maus and A Monster Calls – whew. Yes. Just yes.

What are your thoughts? (Comments are moderated. Yours will be up as soon as I read it!)

