DNF: “Seraphina”

“Seraphina (Seraphina #1)” by Rachel Hartman

Genre: Young Adult Fiction, Fantasy

GoodreadsSource: Library

Summary from Goodreads:

Four decades of peace have done little to ease the mistrust between humans and dragons in the kingdom of Goredd. Folding themselves into human shape, dragons attend court as ambassadors, and lend their rational, mathematical minds to universities as scholars and teachers. As the treaty’s anniversary draws near, however, tensions are high.

Seraphina Dombegh has reason to fear both sides. An unusually gifted musician, she joins the court just as a member of the royal family is murdered—in suspiciously draconian fashion. Seraphina is drawn into the investigation, partnering with the captain of the Queen’s Guard, the dangerously perceptive Prince Lucian Kiggs. While they begin to uncover hints of a sinister plot to destroy the peace, Seraphina struggles to protect her own secret, the secret behind her musical gift, one so terrible that its discovery could mean her very life.

Update- 9/26/14: I gave the book a second chance. Read my review here.
review

Stopped at page 178

-The story moved so incredibly slow for me. Let’s be realistic, 178 pages is long enough for a book to hook you. I wouldn’t have normally read that much if I wasn’t enjoying the story. So many people loved this book so I gave it more of chance.

-The premise of the story is very interesting. For some reason, the author just couldn’t draw me in or make me care about the story.

-I ended up skimming quite a bit.

-The story really wasn’t bad per se. It just wasn’t right for me at the moment. I might end up trying the book again in the future when I’m really in the mood for some high fantasy.

16 thoughts on “DNF: “Seraphina”

  1. I didn’t finish this either… I totally plan to, because I WAS enjoying it… I just put it down and didn’t pick it back up! Maybe one day I’ll sit and read it.

  2. I totally agree that you read more than enough to choose whether to continue or not! I’ve heard so many good things about this book and just haven’t gotten around to it yet so I have no personal opinion yet, but I’m interested to try it. I know I have to be in the mood for high fantasy so I could see if that was an issue! It’s also really hard when you’re hoping for more action or plot and it just isn’t coming. I hope you have better luck if you decide to try again!

  3. I haven’t read Seraphina, but I’ve heard great things about it. High fantasy, though, isn’t a genre I’m drawn too much. I agree, 178 pages is a lot to give a book to hook you. Sorry you couldn’t finish it.

  4. I am so surprised at reading this. Not that I have read this book yet.. it’s just I thought everyone was talking about it because they liked it. Now that I think about it … I might have been just a bunch of book blog tours happening at once. ERRRR!!!

    • Hmmm. That is a bit odd but I wouldn’t hold it against the book. I can see how others would enjoy the book even if it didn’t work for me.

      • I still am going to give it a chance… honestly I don’t remember actually reading any of those blog posts. I just keep seeing this book cover everywhere.

  5. Wow, this surprised me too! Although since I wasn’t as impressed with the other books in the series, even though most people loved them, perhaps I shouldn’t be surprised other people might not like the first book either. I’ll be interested to hear about it if you ever give it another go 🙂

  6. Oh, that sucks!
    I had the same problem with Hohlbein’s “Thor”. The idea is really interesting, but Hohlbein has got troubles with it and even had to ask Manowar members for help. So at the end this book was some hundreds pages way too long and all fights were _identical_. I think he should better made a brake and continue working when the right time was there, instead of trying to make something out of nothing.

  7. This cover is gorgeous,Makes me wanna just go out and buy it.It’s so eye catching!

    New follower here. I stumbled across your blog through a Book blogs thread.Seeing as how your blog is still active,I decided to sign up(Many people up there don’t seem active don’t know why)

    I look forward to your future posts and hope i can get some great suggestions from your list of reviews.Hope i can see you back at either one of my blogs.

    guinandlibertadtomas.blogspot.com

    yamulticulturaljunkie.wordpress.com

  8. Durn, I hate that you hated it because it was possibly one of my most favorite books of 2012. Just goes to show you how many different tastes there are out there.

  9. Pingback: Book Review: “Seraphina” | The Cheap Reader

What are your thoughts? (Comments are moderated. Yours will be up as soon as I read it!)

