Favorite Romances

If you’ve read my blog for any length of time, you know I’m not really a romance fan. That’s not to say I hate all romances out there. I’m just very selective about the romances I back. Here are a few of my favorite romances from literature:

Westley and Buttercup from The Princess Bride

“Do you love me, Westley? Is that it?’

He couldn’t believe it. ‘Do I love you? My God, if your love were a grain of sand, mine would be a universe of beaches. If your love were—‘

‘I don’t understand the first one yet,’ Buttercup interrupted. She was starting to get very excited now. ‘Let me get this straight. Are you saying my love is the size of a grain of sand and yours is this other thing? Images just confuse me so—is this universal business of yours bigger than my sand? Help me, Westley. I have the feeling we’re on the verge of something just terribly important.’

‘I have stayed these years in my hovel because of you. I have taught myself languages because of you. I have made my body strong because I thought you might be pleased by a strong body. I have lived my life with only the prayer that some sudden dawn you might glance in my direction. I have not known a moment in years when the sight of you did not send my heart careening against my rib cage. I have not known a night when your visage did not accompany me to sleep. There has not been a morning when you did not flutter behind my waking eyelids….Is any of this getting through to you, Buttercup, or do you want me to go on for a while?’

‘Never stop.’

‘There has not been—‘

‘If you’re teasing me, Westley, I’m just going to kill you.’

‘How can you even dream I might be teasing?’

‘Well, you haven’t once said you loved me.’

‘That’s all you need? Easy. I love you. Okay? Want it louder? I love you. Spell it out, should I? I ell-oh-vee-ee why-oh-you. Want it backward? You love I.’

‘You are teasing now; aren’t you?’

‘A little maybe; I’ve been saying it so long to you, you just wouldn’t listen. Every time you said ‘Farm boy do this’ you thought I was answering ‘As you wish’ but that’s only because you were hearing wrong. ‘I love you’ was what it was, but you never heard, and you never heard.”

Ron and Hermione from Harry Potter

“Hang on a moment!” said Ron sharply. “We’ve forgotten someone!”

“Who?” asked Hermione.

“The house-elves, they’ll all be down in the kitchen, won’t they?”

“You mean we ought to get them fighting?” asked Harry.

“No,” said Ron seriously, “I mean, we should tell them to get out. We don’t want any more Dobbies, do we? We can’t order them to die for us -”

There was a clatter as the basilisk fangs cascaded out of Hermione’s arms. Running at Ron, she flung them around his neck and kissed him full on the mouth. Ron threw away the fangs and broomstick he was holding and responded with such enthusiasm that he lifted Hermione off her feet.

Anne and Gilbert from Anne of Avonlea

For a moment Anne’s heart fluttered queerly and for the first time her eyes faltered under Gilbert’s gaze and a rosy flush stained the paleness of her face. It was as if a veil that had hung before her inner consciousness had been lifted, giving to her view a revelation of unsuspected feelings and realities. Perhaps, after all, romance did not come into one’s life with pomp and blare, like a gay knight riding down; perhaps it crept to one’s side like an old friend through quiet ways; perhaps it revealed itself in seeming prose, until some sudden shaft of illumination flung athwart its pages betrayed the rhythm and the music, perhaps. . . perhaps. . .love unfolded naturally out of a beautiful friendship, as a golden-hearted rose slipping from its green sheath.

Katsa and Po from Graceling

“I know you don’t want this, Katsa. But I can’t help myself. The moment you came barreling into my life I was lost. I’m afraid to tell you what I wish for, for fear you’ll… oh, I don’t know, throw me into the fire. Or more likely, refuse me. Or worst of all, despise me,” he said, his voice breaking and his eyes dropping from her face. His face dropping into his hands. “I love you,” he said. “You’re more dear to my heart than I ever knew anyone could be. And I’ve made you cry; and there I’ll stop.”

Todd and Viola from the Chaos Walking Trilogy

“Viola?” he says.

And I turn to look at him –

And when I do, I can hear everything he’s thinking.

Everything.

Clearer than before, clearer than seems possible –

And I’m not even sure I’m supposed to, but I look him in the eyes and I see it –

In the middle of everything he’s feeling –

Even after we fought –

Even after I doubted him –

Even after I hurt him –

I see how much he loves me.

Katniss and Peeta from The Hunger Games

“By late afternoon I lie with my head in Peeta’s lap making a crown of flowers while he fiddles with my hair claiming he is practicing knots. After awhile his hands go still.

“What?” I ask.

“I wish I could freeze this moment, right here, right now, and live in it forever,” he says.

Usually this sort of comment, the kind that hints his undying love for me, makes me feel guilty and awful. But I’m so relaxed and beyond worrying about a future I’ll never have, I just let the word slip out.

“Okay,” I say.

I can hear the smile in his voice. “Then you’ll allow it?”

“I’ll allow it.”

See? I’m not a total grinch when it comes to love.

13 thoughts on “Favorite Romances

  1. Thank God no Romeo and Juliet. With all due respect to Shakespeare I always felt those two were too foolish in love. And of course Twilight, Gone with the wind, Love Story by Eric Segal are some of my favourites too. Nice read.!

  2. I’m actually a total sucker for a good romance. I love that scene from Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows (but you doesn’t). I totally ship Ron and Hermione.

    I haven’t read The Princess Bride, but I LOVE the movie. Although, now as an adult, I totaly think Buttercup is a wimp.

  3. Love, love, love your list Princess Bride is definitely one of mine as well as the others (Anne is Great)–I would add George and Alanna (Pierce) Calvin and Meg (L’engle), Rap and Inos (Duncan)

  4. Oh, I love that scene with Peeta and Katniss!!! Oh, and Po. I’m a huge romance fan, but it’s gotta be done right. These are totally done right!

  5. I like gothic romances – mystery, suspense, a little danger. I guess I enjoy the back drop of having a little meat on the romance bone. My favorite author of all time is Victoria Holt. Of course, Bronte, Austen, and even Phillipa Gregory in today’s market as well as Amanda Quick and Jude Devereaux know how to hook me.

What are your thoughts? (Comments are moderated. Yours will be up as soon as I read it!)

