This Week (58)

Classics Retold
Classics Retold sign up is now live! Have you been looking for motivation to read a classic book? This is a your opportunity! For this project, you read a classic book and then watch/read retellings, adaptions, sequels of the book, and post about all of them in September!  We would love for you to join us! Details and sign up links here.

Books Acquired*

Ashfall by Mike Mullin and The Runaway King by Jennifer A. Neilsen [library]

The Rivers of Zadaa by D. J. MacHale [bought] I found a cute little bookstore earlier this week. It was small but packed full of books! I think their focus is children’s books so they had tons of books for kids as well as middle grade-young adult books with a few adult book snuck in. I loved looking around! I love supporting small bookstores so I knew I needed to buy something. The Rivers of Zadaa is what I chose because I’ve been meaning to get back to Pendragon for  while.

Reading Plans

I started on Peter Pan last week for Classics Retold. I’m taking the book slow to enjoy it. I’m only a few chapters in so far. I like it so far. They’ve just left for Neverland so things should pick up soon.

I’ll probably read The Runaway King next. I’ve got some more library book coming in this week but they’re mostly nonfiction about media (Doctor Who and The Hunger Games specifically). I’ll probably just end up reading them on the side.

I read Crown of Embers last week and loved it. I have a bit of a craving for some fantasy like that. I might end up reading Finnikin of the Rock by Melina Marchetta or Grave Mercy by Robin LaFevers to satisfy that craving since I have them on my Kindle. Any other suggestions for similar fantasy to Crown of Embers by Rae Carson?

What did you get this past week? What are you planning on reading this week?

*I’m linking up to Stacking the Shelves hosted by Tynga’s Reviews and Showcase Sunday hosted by Books, Biscuits, & Tea. I miss seeing all the good books people get! I’m sure my TBR list doesn’t miss it though.

4 thoughts on “This Week (58)

  1. I just loved Peter Pan. I listened to the audiobook and followed along and the narrator did an awesome job. I started Robin Hood this week for classics retold and I was going to do the same thing. I downloaded the audiobook and I just couldn’t stand the narrator’s voice so I decided to read the book. The thing is when it is on my computer I feel weird reading it quietly to myself since I have listened to so many audiobooks so the first two chapters of Robin Hood I have read aloud to myself. The author uses a lot of old English and I have had to look a few words up, but so far I’m enjoying it.

  2. I really need to read Grave Mercy. It would be perfect if I could read it before May 18th, but I’m just not sure I will get to it. I keep hearing how wonderful that book is.

    Anyway, enjoy your goodies and happy reading 🙂

What are your thoughts? (Comments are moderated. Yours will be up as soon as I read it!)

