Book Review: “Gathering Blue”

“Gathering Blue (The Giver Quartet #2)” by Lois Lowry

Genre: Children’s Fiction, Dystopia

GoodreadsOther Giver Books

Source: Library

Summary from Goodreads:

Kira, an orphan with a twisted leg, lives in a world where the weak are cast aside. She fears for her future until she is spared by the all-powerful Council of Guardians. Kira is a gifted weaver and is given a task that no other community member can do. While her talent keeps her alive and brings certain privileges, Kira soon realizes she is surrounded by many mysteries and secrets. No one must know of her plans to uncover the truth about her world and see what places exist beyond.

review

Much like The Giver, Gathering Blue‘s world building is subtle. You’re never explicitly told what this world is like. You only see small hints or you figure out things by seeing how characters interact. In some ways, that really, really frustrated me. World building is a huge thing for me. I always want to know how worlds function and how things got to that point. I was not given that in this book. In other ways, the lack of world building made the reader use their imagination more. I was given the bare bones and left to fill things in.

This is a companion novel to The Giver and not a sequel which is important to keep in mind. I can definitely see the parallels in the worlds. There is a harsh, unforgiving nature to the people in both worlds. They don’t want and don’t help “flawed” people. Towards the end of the book I could how the two books might come together. Basically don’t go into this looking to clear up loose ends from The Giver. I guess the next book, Messenger, does that.

Kira was a likeable character. She is an outsider in her world so both of you can see the flaws and problems within her society. Matty was very likable. His innocence and loving nature was great. It was exactly what Kira needed.

The bottom line? It was okay.

6 thoughts on “Book Review: “Gathering Blue”

  1. I totally agree. Just okay for me. I LOVED The Giver (even re-read as an adult) so reading Gathering Blue was actually kind of a let down for me. It was quick and interesting, but just not as interesting as I had hoped. I still need to read Son to finish off this quartet!

      • I should really see if I can get it from the library soon to close out the series! The whole series has been a really quick read (with each book) so I bet it wouldn’t take long either. I’m also really curious to see how it all ties together in the end even though they’re companion novels!

  2. I liked this book, but I think it suffered from being the “sequel” to The Giver. The stories were mostly unrelated, but I think the association made me expect more. It was a cute book, and would have been better if it were completely independent.

  3. Messenger clears things up a bit, and Son does give more resolution as well, but I felt that even that book was left open ended (somewhat) because there’s so much more that I want to know about that worlds, so I completely understand where you’re coming from in terms of the lack of world building being frustrating.

What are your thoughts? (Comments are moderated. Yours will be up as soon as I read it!)

