Top Ten Words/Topics That Instantly Make Me Pick Up A Book

Top Ten Tuesday is hosted by The Broke and The Bookish.

I work all day so I will release and return comments as quickly as I can! Thanks for stopping by.

This week’s topic is: Top Ten Words/Topics That Instantly Make Me Buy/Pick Up A Book

1. Retelling: I’m a total sucker when it comes to retellings. I even read retellings for books I’ve never read!

2. “Special” Schools or Camps: We can all agree that normal school can be pretty boring. However schools like Hogwarts make school pretty appealing. I’d even lump normal boarding schools in here because I always thought it would be pretty awesome to go to boarding school.

3. Dystopias: Real dystopias though. You know, the ones that explore the politics of the world and have a real explanation of how the world got to that point.

4. Royalty/Royal Drama: The world of royalty can be pretty exciting. Even their drama is more exciting!

5. Hidden Worlds: I love books like Harry Potter that have a whole hidden world existing in our world. It’s fun to imagine what could be hiding out there.

6. Political Corruption: I never thought politics could be exciting but I’ve discovered political corruption in books can be really interesting to read about. Typically there’s more to the bad guys in these stories. They tend to have interesting motivations.

7. World War II era Historical Fiction: Historical fiction can be a bit hit or miss for me but for some reason WWII historical always seems to catch my eye.

8. Contemporary fiction with a different protagonist: I’ve always been interested in learning about physical and mental disabilities. I could spend hours watching documentaries about how various disabilities and the people with them are able to live with them. Books featuring children or young adults with disabilities are always fascinating to me because growing up is hard enough on its own so I love seeing how they cope with another struggle.

9. Using Characters From Literature: These books are a bit similar to retellings but instead they just use various characters from literature. The stories don’t have to deal with the original stories the characters are from.

10. Book About Books: I don’t read too much non-fiction but I’m always fascinated with essays about literature (particularly children’s literature). I was a Mass Communication major so I did read and write my fair share of essays examining books and movies. It’s cool to see different people’s perspectives on books. There are SO many different layers to media out there. You can read a book numerous times and pick up something new on each read. How awesome is that?

5 thoughts on “Top Ten Words/Topics That Instantly Make Me Pick Up A Book

  1. Love all these topics! Definitely love books that have characters from other literary works – The Madman’s Daughter comes to mind. They’re such an interesting twist!

  2. Pingback: Weekend Ramblings: Top 10 Words that Make Me Pick Up a Book | Excellent Library

  3. I like the hidden worlds one, I never really thought about it, but I do tend to go for books that are like that. The special school or camps one is another I agree with. I just finished the Hex Hall series and with such a school and loved it.

What are your thoughts? (Comments are moderated. Yours will be up as soon as I read it!)

