Book Review: “Scarlet (Lunar Chronicles #2)”

“Scarlet (Lunar Chronicles #2)” by Marissa Meyer

Genre: Young Adult Fiction, Science Fiction, Fairy Tale Re-telling

GoodreadsSource: Library

Other Lunar Chronicles Books

Summary from Goodreads:

The fates of Cinder and Scarlet collide as a Lunar threat spreads across the Earth…

Cinder, the cyborg mechanic, returns in the second thrilling installment of the bestselling Lunar Chronicles. She’s trying to break out of prison—even though if she succeeds, she’ll be the Commonwealth’s most wanted fugitive.

Halfway around the world, Scarlet Benoit’s grandmother is missing. It turns out there are many things Scarlet doesn’t know about her grandmother or the grave danger she has lived in her whole life. When Scarlet encounters Wolf, a street fighter who may have information as to her grandmother’s whereabouts, she is loath to trust this stranger, but is inexplicably drawn to him, and he to her. As Scarlet and Wolf unravel one mystery, they encounter another when they meet Cinder. Now, all of them must stay one step ahead of the vicious Lunar Queen Levana, who will do anything for the handsome Prince Kai to become her husband, her king, her prisoner.

review

  • I liked Scarlet. She was feisty, strong and not willing to back down.
  • I liked Wolf well enough but I didn’t like his and Scarlet’s instalove. I was also a bit unsure of what exactly he was. Is he human? Is he a Lunar? Is he some kind of wolf-human hybrid?
  • It was cool to see how crazy Levana was. She really wasn’t going to stop at anything to get Cinder.
  • It’s terrifying that people are letting her. I do understand that she’s able to “trick” people but it’s pretty clear what her intentions are. I feel like someone besides Cinder should be catching on and trying to stop her. Come on, how many governments do we have on Earth? Shouldn’t someone  stand up to her?
  • The story was very much a middle-of-series book. I really felt like Cinder’s storyline didn’t progress too far. She broke out of jail and found Scarlet. That was kind of it. I can see how Meyer was able to lay some pieces into place for the storyline .

The bottom line? I liked it but it wasn’t super duper amazing.

8 thoughts on “Book Review: “Scarlet (Lunar Chronicles #2)”

  1. I agree with you about Wolf & Scarlet’s insta-love. I wondered about that myself, though I thought it was cute regardless and was rooting for them in the end.. I think you’re right that it wasn’t super amazing, but I really liked it and ended up giving 4/5 stars. Great review!

  2. I actually loved Scarlet just as much as I loved Cinder. I love how Meyer is creating this series. It’s different, and makes it more interesting to me because each book focuses on a different character, but they are all connected too.

  3. I agree with you completely! The insta-love was definitely too much and I didn’t feel like the plot went anywhere. I did like Scarlet’s character a lot though and Meyer’s writing style 🙂

What are your thoughts? (Comments are moderated. Yours will be up as soon as I read it!)

