Discussion: Integrity and Book Blogging

let's talkSo recently I was approached by someone to do a giveaway on my blog. They were offering to provide a $50 Amazon giftcard or a box set of the Beautiful Creatures books. That sounds fantastic, right? Those are not cheap prizes and I’m sure they could generate some good traffic for my blog. I’ve decided to pass on the offer though. Why? Because the company has absolutely nothing to do with books. It was just a random online company/storefront that came across my blog. While I was grateful for the offer, I just didn’t like the feel of the offer. It felt too much like an advertisement.

That got me thinking about how integrity affects our blogging. (Disclaimer: I am not passing judgement on anyone or his/her blog. Only you know what’s best for you and your blog.)

For me personally, I try to keep everything open and honest. I don’t join tons of blog tours. I’ve done a few but ultimately decided to only join and promote a book if I really enjoy it. I don’t really accept too many review requests anymore. I’m always grateful for the opportunity to read and review a book that I wouldn’t have picked up on my own. I’d much rather peruse my local library or bookstore for books that interest me though. I don’t want this blog to evolve into an advertisement for authors and publishers.

I could read lots and lots of popular YA books because I’m sure that would generate a decent amount of traffic. Instead I read what strikes my fancy. As a result this blog  features old and new YA, MG, and Children’s books. There are even classic books thrown in. I want this to remain my reading journal that I’m sharing with the internet. I just want a place to share my thoughts on books even though those thoughts can be really short or rambly at times.

How do you keep your integrity while blogging?

(I could go on about this subject but you get the point. Not to mention inspiration
struck in the middle of the night but I still need to get ready for work!)

18 thoughts on “Discussion: Integrity and Book Blogging

  1. I completely agree with you. It’s SO important to do what you want to do on your blog – I think that’s what makes blogs unique and individual. Great post – it’s really got me thinking!

  2. I agree. I think integrity is as important in blogging as anywhere else. But it is also up to the individual blogger, what he/she feels comfortable doing. Like you I don’t do anything that isn’t book related since that is the focus of my blog.

  3. I had the same person approach me and I likewise declined..I totally agree..the purpose of my blog isn’t to be a free advertisement for an appliance company and I think you need to keep that sense that you and your blog/thoughts can’t be bought!

  4. I totally agree. I have so far excepted one book for review. Otherwise I choose to read what I want to read. I notice I read a lot of books that are early 2000s, but those books deserve some love to so I don’t feel bad about not reading recently released books all the time.

  5. I think that’s cool that you read whatever you like and don’t feel pressured to read what people request of you. I personally like doing blog tours. I’ve read a lot of books that I wouldn’t normally read and I like giving publicity to indie books. I haven’t been able to do many blog tours recently because I’m back in school, but in the future I will. I LOVE Netgalley and author requests, but sometimes I do feel like I never have time to just read a book that I picked out. I really need to read the new Lying Game book (it’s my guilty pleasure series) and it’s been sitting here. Normally I would read it the DAY it came out, but I just have too many books in front of it 😦 I think what you’ve done with your blog is really cool. I need to get mine more like that! Thanks for sharing!

    • That’s great you love giving publicity to indie books, Michelle! That’s what’s so great about book blogging. We’re a pretty diverse bunch of readers.

  6. Good discussion!

    I personally steer away from all kinds of giveaways. I don’t want my blog to become about trying to get more and more followers, or people reading it just to get free stuff.

    Right now, I do provide contact info for authors/publishers to contact me about books they’d like me to review, but I’m seriously considering changing my policy on that, because there have been so few of those books that I’ve felt compelled to take on — I’ve got enough on my plate keeping up with my Netgalley requests and the other new books that I *know* I really want to read.

    • Exactly, Wendy! I’d much rather have a smaller group of blog readers who generate good dissensions rather than a large following with people don’t really read my blog.

      I’m becoming like that as well.

  7. It’s your blog, so you should do with it whatever you want. If you want to be commercial and accept promotions and just read the newest popular books to get traffic, then that’s also a choice. I actually like finding out about older, not-in-the-mainstream books, like the ones you reviewed for Project Fairy Tale, so if you feel any pressure to do otherwise, you shouldn’t.

    P.S. In case I haven’t mentioned it before, I feel pretty damn lucky that you chose to review one of my books last year. Thanks! 🙂

  8. I have one tour company I work with, they are super low pressure and they have indie books that I am usually glad I have read. Otherwise I mainly use my blog like a reading journal, I want to be able to read what I want when I want or I get moody! When I bulk up on too many books I take on for review I get stressed out. blech. So I don’t really do that very often.
    There are so many wonderful new, old and in-between books there has to be those of us who do a cross section or you miss out on too much.

  9. Pingback: Weekly Highlights; Slow Week Edition | A Daydreamer's Thoughts

  10. I agree. I mean, at the beginning I didn’t really know what to blog about, or how to write a review for the matter 😛 I just didn’t know how to aproach the subject without spoiling the whole book. And then I read Divergent and I was like “OMG, I NEED to share my love for this book!” And I wrote my first review.

    During the months I started thinking – what kind of reviews do I like? I don’t like long reviews, and I don’t like reviews that tell me too much about a book. Because then I lose interest to actually read the book. So I came up with my style of writing reviews. They may be unprofessional for some people, they may be too short, but for me they are perfect 🙂 And I decided to stick with what I like 🙂

    Great post! 😉

What are your thoughts? (Comments are moderated. Yours will be up as soon as I read it!)

