YA Display Help!

I think I’ve mentioned it before but I help make the YA book displays at work. I’m having fun with it. My problem is it’s a bit difficult to come up with a theme/idea for a display (that hasn’t been done too recently). I’d love to hear your ideas for displays you’d like to see. Yes, I plan on sharing the book list here each month.

The only requirements are:

  • the idea has a good number of Young Adult books that I could put on to the list (15+ books)
  • the books need to “mainstream” enough that a public library would own copies of the books

I’ve got a few book lists in the works:

  • Mythological fiction
  • Funny books
  • First job/Summer employment

Let’s hear your ideas!

19 thoughts on “YA Display Help!

  1. – WWII (Code Name Verity, The Book Thief, Number the Stars, etc)
    – Brought to You By the Letter ___ (all books start with the same letter)
    – Epic love triangles

  2. I don’t know which themes have been done recently, but here are some of my ideas:
    – YA books that have been adapted to movies
    – Theme based on your favorite YA paranormal species – vampires, angels, etc.
    – Big Brother (as in oppressive governments)
    – Love Triangles (hate these in YA books but they’re everywhere)
    – Something similar to the United States of YA, or focus on your state or region (see http://www.epicreads.com/blog/the-united-states-of-ya/)

    • The movie one could be fun. I know it’s been done semirecently but maybe I could spin it towards movies that are coming soon.

      Wow, lots of great idea. Thank you so much!

  3. Time travel, guys vs girls (protagonist show down male protag on one side, girls on other), space travel, mysteries, road trip, books with audio option (I know our library only has a few on audio), beach setting, pirates, animals ??!?! Hope that helps. 🙂

  4. wow that would be so hard to come up with new ideas like that all the time! You could do a “Start a New Series” display and put out book 1s of some good series.

  5. I know it’s only just spring, but maybe for a display a little while down the line, you could do beach reads, where the books center around summer on the beach? Of course all I can think of are adult fiction titles for this right now, lol. If any relevant YA titles come to mind though I’ll come back and list them.

    • Good thinking, Melissa. Beach reads could be fun. I guess I could even expand it to light, easy reading (aka beach read books) if I didn’t have enough for my list.

  6. You could do a focus on different countries, either books set in those countries or books by authors from those countries… Focus on different species, like maybe on aliens, or elves etc… Focus on different time periods, like books set in/written in a certain decade, or a certain era or historical time…. Hope this is helpful

What are your thoughts? (Comments are moderated. Yours will be up as soon as I read it!)

