The Lizzie Bennet Diaries Part 1

I recently started watching The Lizzie Bennet Diaries. I thought might be interesting to talk about my feelings now (as a total Jane Austen/Pride and Prejudice newbie) and revisit my thoughts on the series later on after I’ve read Pride and Prejudice. (I plan on reading the book in June/July this year if you’d like to join me!)

As I mentioned above, I’m completely new to Pride and Prejudice. I’ve never read the book or watched any of the adaptions. I was vaguely aware of some of the story line: it’s a romance and Elizabeth thinks she could never fall in love with someone like Mr. Darcy but she does. And honestly? That never really caught my attention or made me want to read the book.

I got along really well with Lizzie straight away. We’re the same age so we’re through similar struggles. She’s smart, witty, and is more concerned about taking care of herself than finding a husband. In this day and age, that’s pretty common for women our age. Her personality is fabulous. After watching just a few videos, you feel like you two are great friends.

The side characters are great as well. Jane and Bing are totally cute. I was surprised at how invested I became in their relationship. Lydia really surprised me. Early on in the story I was annoyed by her. She was just loud and obnoxious. It didn’t really seem like she had a personality. Thankfully as the story progressed her character really filled out. All she wants is love and approval. When she doesn’t get it, she goes down a bad path to get that approval.

Charlotte is a great friend. I’m not sure if we were supposed to side with Lizzie when she got angry with Charlotte over taking Ricky’s job offer but I was definitely on Team Charlotte for that argument.  It isn’t Charlotte’s dream job but it’s a start. She knows that you have to start somewhere career wise. Even though Mrs. Bennet isn’t shown on screen I was really able to “get” her.  I didn’t like her in the beginning because I couldn’t get past the idea that she was SO focused on getting her daughters married off. That just seems so weird and dated today. Over the course of the story it’s revealed that the family is having financial problems and may need to sell the house. It was then that I started to get her. She just wants to make sure that her daughters are taken care of. Who can blame her for that?

I did like the story and all the drama. Right away in the storyline I knew what was going to happen with Lizzie/Darcy. I could tell she was going to think he was stuck up and stand off-ish (when really he was probably just shy and awkward). Yes, I know that’s probably a big “DUH” but keep in mind this whole story is new to me. Even though I could see how things would probably play out, I still waited not-so-patiently for their next interaction. Romance in stories isn’t my thing but their awkwardness is adorable.

Right now the latest episode is 94. I can’t believe it’s almost over! I’m excited to see how things will wrap up. I definitely need to see some more Lizzie/Darcy interaction. For the first time, I’m actually wanting to read P&P. I sometimes have a hard time relating to characters in classic books because we don’t have much in common. After watching this adaption, I’m starting to realize I might actually have more in common with these characters that I originally thought

5 thoughts on “The Lizzie Bennet Diaries Part 1

  1. Oh Mr. Darcy is totally snobbish at the beginning. I don’t think he’s as bad as Lizzie makes him out to be, but he definitely have some snobbishness. I mean, the first proposal scense (ep. 60 in LBD) really shows some of his snobby opinions. But he is also very loyal to those he cares about.

    Lydia in the book is SOOOOO annoying. I love that in LBD we get to see a more developed side to Lydia. I can’t wait to hear what you think about the book. It’s my favorite book ever. And after you read the book you must watch the BBC P&P with Colin Firth. It’s 5 hours long and marvelous. I like the Keira Knightley version too.

    So glad you are loving LBD. I am sad it’s almost over 😦

  2. I really like Becoming Jane too which is historical fiction about Jane Austen. But I must say my favorite adaptation is Bride and Prejudice, its a Bollywood film, but you know with their cultural differences (the movie itself points out that India has just gone through industrialization makes the time period similar to that in Pride and Prejudice)…..They don’t take themselves too seriously BUT the characters’ worries are SO relatable 🙂

What are your thoughts? (Comments are moderated. Yours will be up as soon as I read it!)

