Book Review: “Daughter of Smoke and Bone”

“Daughter of Smoke and Bone (Daughter of Smoke and Bone #1)” by Laini Taylor

Genre: Young Adult Fiction, Fantasy

Other Daughter of Smoke and Bone books

Source: Free audiobook download from Sync

Summary from Goodreads:

Around the world, black hand prints are appearing on doorways, scorched there by winged strangers who have crept through a slit in the sky.

In a dark and dusty shop, a devil’s supply of human teeth grows dangerously low.

And in the tangled lanes of Prague, a young art student is about to be caught up in a brutal otherwordly war.

Meet Karou. She fills her sketchbooks with monsters that may or may not be real; she’s prone to disappearing on mysterious “errands”; she speaks many languages—not all of them human; and her bright blue hair actually grows out of her head that color. Who is she? That is the question that haunts her, and she’s about to find out.

When one of the strangers—beautiful, haunted Akiva—fixes his fire-colored eyes on her in an alley in Marrakesh, the result is blood and starlight, secrets unveiled, and a star-crossed love whose roots drink deep of a violent past. But will Karou live to regret learning the truth about herself?

review

  • I really liked Karou. She’s spunky, funny, independent. She feels very real. She knows boys/love aren’t going to fix everything. I totally want to be her friend.
  • Karou was obviously the focus of the story but the other characters were just as wonderful. Her “family” was a little weird but you had to love them. They’re sweet and you could feel how much they love Karou. Zuzana was hilarious and adorable. I thought she was a great best friend.
  • It’s a very interesting story. I know I held off on reading the book for quite a while because I thought it was going to be too weird. It was weird but it wasn’t off-putting. It’s not like anything I had read before.
  • The world building was quite awesome. I’ve never come across a book like this so I was endlessly fascinated by the world Taylor was giving us. Using teeth for magic?! What? I couldn’t help but want to know more.
  • I was totally loving the story until the end. I hated being taken from a very crucial moment into an incredibly long flashback. I didn’t hate the flashback per se but it wasn’t the right time for it.
  • The narrator was awesome. She absolutely was Karou. She was bubbly and had a full personality. Her voices were pretty decent as well. If you have the opportunity, please try this as an audiobook.
  • Akiva… As usual, I didn’t love the romance or Akiva. Star-crossed lovers aren’t exactly original. I didn’t love him. I did like that his love never wavered. I just didn’t swoon over him.

The bottom line? I really enjoyed it except for the romance angle.

6 thoughts on “Book Review: “Daughter of Smoke and Bone”

  1. I loved this book from beginning to end. I loved Akiva. I loved the flashback. i thought it was important to explaining so much of this story’s conflicts. It also goes on to explain a lot of the next book’s underlying motivations between Akiva and Karou. I won’t spoil though. 🙂

    I’m glad you read it!

  2. I started reading this book a few months ago and couldn’t get into it. I think mainly it’s because of both the romance and the names of the characters. They were just so out there i oculdnt remember them and wrap my head around them. Plus, I like romance in all my books hehe, great review i think this was a very much it’s not you it’s me type of one.

What are your thoughts? (Comments are moderated. Yours will be up as soon as I read it!)

