Book Review: “Anne of Avonlea”

“Anne of Avonlea (Anne of Green Gables #2)” by L. M. Montgomery

Genre: Children’s Fiction, Classic, Coming of Age

Source: Bought

Other Anne of Green Gables books

Summary from Goodreads:

At sixteen Anne is grown up…almost. Her gray eyes shine like evening stars, but her red hair is still as peppery as her temper. In the years since she arrived at Green Gables as a freckle-faced orphan, she has earned the love of the people of Avonlea and a reputation for getting into scrapes. But when Anne begins her job a the new schoolteacher, the real test of her character begins. Along with teaching the three Rs, she is learning how complicated life can be when she meddles in someone else’s romance, finds two orphans at Green Gables, and wonders about the strange behaviour of the very handsome Gilbert Blythe. As Anne enters womanhood, her adventures touch the heart and the funny bone.

review

It was just as sweet and charming as the first one. This book is also episodic in nature. It’s a bit of a shame that there’s no overarching storyline for the book. It guess it works out well because the characters are able to shine more in a story told this way. The book was still quite packed with lots of goodies: Mr. Harrison, Anne becoming a school teacher, Anne and Marilla trying to raise twins, Miss Lavendar, and the A.V. I. S..

It’s great to see how far Anne has come. She’s still the carefree, loveable heroine we met in the first book but she’s definitely matured. No she hasn’t completely outgrown her fantastical ways or wild imagination but you can’t really expect that after a few years. It’s hard to believe that she’s only 16-18 in this book. Instead she really matures like a real person does. Just a bit at a time but it is noticeable.

There were so many lovely characters. Davy was a little stinker. I know he wasn’t trying to be a pain but he always seemed to end up in a big mess. Paul was very sweet. That’s how I imagine Anne would have been if she were a boy (or maybe that’s how her sons will be). It’s great to see that big of an imagination on a boy. Girls tend to be the ones with the big imaginations. Miss Lavendar was wonderful. She truly was a kindred spirit to Anne.

The bottom line? It was a lovely sequel.

10 thoughts on “Book Review: “Anne of Avonlea”

  1. I think one of the odd things about this series is the way each books is just a series of episodes in Anne’s crazy life. It’s definitely not a style you see much in today’s publishing world.

    Actually, later installments in the series—especially the final two books—are much more plot-driven than otherwise. That may be why Rilla of Ingleside is one of my favorites. (Aside from the swoonworthy leading man, of course.)

  2. I love book 3 (Anne of the Island). Anne goes away to university, meets 2 new chums, dates a guy, and gets jealous of Gilbert and his girlfriend. It might be my favorite book.

    • Oooh. I bought a copy of book 3 a few months ago when I bought this. I can’t wait to read it.
      I’m really hoping to find my mom’s set of the books when we (eventually) inherit my grandparent’s stuff.

  3. I’m about halfway through this one and the episodic nature makes it really hard for me to read more than a chapter or two at a time. I am not really an expert on early 20th century lit, but the other book written during that time period that I read recently (The Virginian) is written in the same way. I wonder if it was trendy to write more character-based, episodic stories at that time. Anyways, Anne is always very charming and I’m definitely keeping a hold of these books for when my little girl is old enough. I think they’ll be even better for a kid than for an adult!

    • I haven’t read too many books from this time period so I haven’t noticed if episodic stories are the norm. I wouldn’t be surprised if they were. I do know that serial novels were popular around this time so it makes sense that they might go together.

What are your thoughts? (Comments are moderated. Yours will be up as soon as I read it!)

