Book Review: “Harry Potter And The Order Of The Phoenix”

“Harry Potter And The Order Of The Phoenix (Harry Potter #5)”by J. K. Rowling

Genre: Children’s Fiction, Fantasy

Source: Bought

Other Harry Potter books

Summary from Goodreads:

There is a door at the end of a silent corridor, and it’s haunting Harry Potter’s dreams. Why else would he be waking in the middle of the night, screaming in terror?

Harry has a lot on his mind for this, his fifth year at Hogwarts: a Defense Against the Dark Arts teacher with a personality like poisoned honey; a big surprise on the Gryffindor Quidditch team; and the looming terror of the Ordinary Wizarding Level exams. But all these things pale next to the growing threat of He-Who-Must-Not-Be-Named — a threat that neither the magical government nor the authorities at Hogwarts can stop.

As the grasp of darkness tightens, Harry must discover the true depth and strength of his friends, the importance of boundless loyalty, and the shocking price of unbearable sacrifice.

His fate depends on them all.

review

It’s always hard to figure out which of the book is my favorite. It’s quite a bit easier to figure out my least favorite. Order of the Phoenix always ranks low for me. It’s not because it’s a bad book. It just has a lot of things that really, really annoy me.

First off we have Harry. Harry has always been a bit off. He’s not a perfect hero by any stretch of the imagination but by this book he is really out of control. I guess it’s all the hormones catching up with him. He really has a horrible temper in this book. I guess I get where he’s coming from. I couldn’t imagine going through what he’s been through and not having people believe him. Add to that the fact that the adults in his life don’t trust him enough/can’t tell tell him everything that’s going on. But constantly losing his temper and alienating his few friends really isn’t the best way to deal with the situation. I guess it really shows his age. He has been through more than most adults go through in their entire lives and he’s only 15.

Umbridge is awful. No really she is. I almost have to skip this book and movie when going through the series because of how much I dislike her. Honestly she’s right next to Voldemort as far bad guys go. Evil is bad but sugar coated evil is the worst.

Sirius. Oh. Man. His death was the first really devastating death in the series for me. Obviously because I liked him quite a bit. Yes he’s reckless and a bit arrogant but he’s a really good guy. The biggest reason his death is so bad is because how awful it is for Harry. Harry just got the first real family he’s had in years. Yes he has the Weasleys but Sirius is a real connection to his past. Your heart definitely breaks a bit for him because you know how badly Harry is hurting.

Despite all the bad stuff, the story is really interesting. Voldemort is back so now we’re getting a sampling of what life was like 14+ years ago. The Order is pretty awesome. It’s a shame that the wizards only have this small group of people to try to defeat Voldemort and his followers. Despite that, they’re doing a pretty good job of standing up to them. Umbridge is a pretty illuminating character. The series has hinted about the blood and spices issues in the past but Umbridge is living proof of how those people act and think.

The bottom line? It’s my least favorite book but it’s still enjoyable.

Harry Potter Read Along Master Post

13 thoughts on “Book Review: “Harry Potter And The Order Of The Phoenix”

  1. Order of the Phoenix is also my least favorite book in the series because of Umbridge. Fortunately (or unfortunately), Sirius’s death was spoiled for me before I read the book, so it didn’t hit me as hard when I read it.

  2. HP 5 is probably my least favorite too. That doesn’t mean that I don’t love it, but it is the most difficult to read. I think it needed to be part of the whole series, but it is a tough one.

    You are so right about Umbridge. Sugar coated evil is worse than overt evil.

    The part that makes this so difficult for me to re-read, is when Sirius dies. I am in full agreement with you. What makes his death so painful is how Harry feels regarding Sirius’s death.

    I read this book immediately upon its release (after waiting three long years for it to be published!), and when I finished it, I cried for a few days afterwards. I think this is the saddest in the series. I know some people that think when Dumbledore dies in book 6 is the saddest. And I guess it is for them. But Dumbledore was an old man, and had lived a long, productive life. Sirius was obviously much younger, but also much of his life was spent in prision for a crime he did not committ. But over all, I think his death is so sad because of how Harry feels.

    • Ahh that’s a very interesting point about Sirius vs Dumbledore’s death. I felt Dumbledore’s death was worse because Dumbledore symbolized hope. His death=hope dying.

  3. I think this is the one I had the most trouble with because Harry was acting like a jerky, angst-ridden, hormonal teen for most of the beginning. Then Umbridge was such a toad and yea, Sirius killed me. Though the actual act felt like a non-event. I was like, “but he just fell through a curtain…wait – WHAT!?” But on my reread I liked it better 🙂

    • Harry was SO annoying in this book. He’s been really annoying me on this re-read in all the books. I understand why he’s acting that way but it’s still annoying.
      I think I liked that it was pretty low-key. I don’t think I could have handled a huge focus on his death.

What are your thoughts? (Comments are moderated. Yours will be up as soon as I read it!)

