Book Review: “The Girl of Fire and Thorns”

“The Girl of Fire and Thorns (Fire and Thorns #1)” by Rae Carson

Genre: Young Adult Fiction, Fantasy

Source: Bought

Other books Fire and Thorns books

Summary from Goodreads:

Once a century, one person is chosen for greatness.

Elisa is the chosen one.

But she is also the younger of two princesses, the one who has never done anything remarkable. She can’t see how she ever will.

Now, on her sixteenth birthday, she has become the secret wife of a handsome and worldly king—a king whose country is in turmoil. A king who needs the chosen one, not a failure of a princess.

And he’s not the only one who seeks her. Savage enemies seething with dark magic are hunting her. A daring, determined revolutionary thinks she could be his people’s savior. And he looks at her in a way that no man has ever looked at her before. Soon it is not just her life, but her very heart that is at stake.

Elisa could be everything to those who need her most. If the prophecy is fulfilled. If she finds the power deep within herself. If she doesn’t die young.

Most of the chosen do.

review

Elisa was interesting. I liked that she’s not the typical protagonist. She’s not pretty, she’s not thin, and she prefers taking the backseat so her sister can take on the royal duties. I hated that she was constantly complaining about herself though. It’s really not the end of the world because you don’t look like other girls.  I would have much preferred if she looked the same but just embraced the fact that she’s different. Thankfully she does redeem herself through the story. She goes from being a sulky teenager to a strong leader of an army. What’s not to like about that?

I don’t know why it bothered me so much but I wasn’t thrilled by the fact that I couldn’t place where this story was taking place (or what religion was in the story). I know it’s stupid because I read other fantasy books that take place in other worlds or take place at an unknown location on Earth. Those don’t bother me. I guess it was the fact that this world was pretty similar to ours but just a bit different. It’s like the location was on the tip of my tongue but I couldn’t get it out.

I loved that the book felt a lot like the Graceling realm books. It has just a bit of fantasy to keep the story interesting. The heroine who slowly grows into herself and discovers how strong she really is. She might fall for a guy but she doesn’t need him to be complete. In fact she’s almost stronger without him. Very much like the Graceling books, the political aspect was really interesting but a bit difficult for me to fully grasp. I understood enough to keep me reading but I didn’t understand it well enough to explain it someone.

The bottom line? If you loved the fantasy and politics of the Graceling realm books, you’re sure to enjoy the Girl of Fire and Thorns.

 

11 thoughts on “Book Review: “The Girl of Fire and Thorns”

  1. I have this book on my shelf waiting to be read. I’ve really been looking forward to reading it because I’ve heard great things about it. So it was interesting to read your review! 🙂 I just posted an author interview/giveaway if you’re interested! I hope you are having a great Thursday!

    Leigh Ann
    MaMa’s Book Corner

  2. This one was such a great read. I found all the religion stuff a little odd, but loved the setting. I kept picturing both Spanish and Middle Eastern locations. The sequel, Crown of Embers, is hands down one of my favorite reads this year. Hope you enjoy it too if you get to it!

    • I’m so glad I decided to pick it up. For some reason I wasn’t totally sold on the blurb but after reading it I have no idea why I felt like that. I hope to pick up the sequel at some point…

  3. This looks like an awesome book and I might have to pick it up! I’m finishing up a pretty great book now called “Three Fugitives” by Nat Howler, it’s part of the Six Stones Trilogy. You can check out him and the book on the website http://nathowler.com/. Thanks for the review and suggestion!

What are your thoughts? (Comments are moderated. Yours will be up as soon as I read it!)

