Quick Thoughts: “Kristy’s Great Idea”

“Kristy’s Great Idea (The Baby-Sitters Club #1)” by Ann M. Martin

Genre: Children’s/Middle Grade Fiction

Source: Bought

Summary from Goodreads:

It all began with a great idea . . . and the inspiring original story of the Babysitters Club is back! Kristy Thomas’s brilliant business plan gets off to a great start with the help of Claudia Kishi (vice-president), Mary Anne Spier (secretary), and Stacey McGill (treasurer).

review

Oh Baby-Sitters Club, I’ve missed you. You would think that a book about tweens babysitting could get boring after a while but it surprisingly doesn’t. The book focuses on the craziness of babysitting and the personal drama of the narrator.

Stacy’s brattiness was a bit annoying. On one hand, I do understand her. I’m aware that divorce sucks and having your mom date someone is not fun. I also get her frustrations with her friends. It’s never fun to not feel close to your friend and feel like someone is trying to squeeze in. On the other hand as a adult I just want to tell her to grow up. Those problems really aren’t that bad.

I got to say a babysitters club really is a good idea. I’m not just saying that because I may have attempted to form my own babysitters club and failed miserably. It’s got to be fantastic for parents to make only 1 call and find a babysitter rather than call everyone they know.

The bottom line? I enjoyed the book as much as I did the first time I read it many years ago. I kind of want to read more BSC books now.

3 thoughts on “Quick Thoughts: “Kristy’s Great Idea”

  1. omg, BSC. Did you ever see the movie? It’s amazingly corny, in a really good way, and it’s got some interesting people in it (like Rachael Leigh Cook as Mary Anne and Schuyler Fisk as Kristy). Sometimes they show it on movie channels if you have fancy cable! Or maybe it’s on Netflix?

What are your thoughts? (Comments are moderated. Yours will be up as soon as I read it!)

