Quick Thoughts: “The Twits”

“The Twits” by Roald Dahl

Genre: Children’s Fiction

Source: Gift

Summary from Goodreads:

How do you outwit a Twit? Mr. and Mrs. Twit are the smelliest, ugliest people in the world. They hate everything — except playing mean jokes on each other, catching innocent birds to put in their Bird Pies, and making their caged monkeys, the Muggle-Wumps, stand on their heads all day. But the Muggle-Wumps have had enough. They don’t just want out, they want revenge.

review

Not one of my favorites from Dahl. At first I found the Twits’ pranks to be a bit funny but it got old pretty fast. Why would a couple that hates each other as much as they do stay together? Especially when they’re so mean to each other?

As you would guess, I didn’t like the Twits at all. They’re mean, rude, and disgusting. Nothing redeeming about them. I did find the pranks from the animals funny. Who doesn’t love the idea of turning a whole house upside down? The animals were likable enough but then again compared to the Twits many things are likeable!

The bottom line? I think I might have enjoyed this more or found it funny as a kid but not so much now.

This was read as part of my Roald Dahl Challenge.

Feel free to join in!

 

 

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “Quick Thoughts: “The Twits”

  1. The Twits is amongst my most memorable Dahl stories because it was my end-of-the-year present from my 4th grade teacher, who also happened to be a children’s book author under Scholastic. Every so often she would come in with a box of books, lay them out on a table and let us choose the book we wanted. At the end of the year, I remember we had to write our first three book choices and she would give us one of them. And I, being a big Dahl lover, chose (and received) The Twits.

    Not my favorite book (but I did love those pranks), but one of my favorite quotations is when Dahl claims that nobody can look ugly when smiling. I found it so true in my nine year old brain. I still believe it a decade later.

    Ah the memories!

    Lilian @ A Novel Toybox

What are your thoughts? (Comments are moderated. Yours will be up as soon as I read it!)

