Book Review: “The Hound of the Baskervilles”

“The Hound of the Baskervilles” by Sir Arthur Conan Doyle

Genre: Adult Fiction, Mystery, Classic

Source: Gift

Summary from Goodreads:

Holmes and Watson are faced with their most terrifying case yet. The legend of the devil-beast that haunts the moors around the Baskerville families home warns the descendants of that ancient clan never to venture out in those dark hours when the power of evil is exalted. Now, the most recent Baskerville, Sir Charles, is dead and the footprints of a giant hound have been found near his body. Will the new heir meet the same fate?

Review

I’ve always enjoyed the idea of Sherlock Holmes and have enjoyed the various interpretations of him in media (Guy Ritchie’s movies, House MD) but I’ve never actually read a Sherlock Holmes book. I decided it was time to change that. My first experience was a decent one. I got exactly what I was expecting. Holmes and Watson have quick and sometimes witty discussions. They pick up on things I never would have noticed. Holmes pieces everything together.

The mystery was decent enough. It wasn’t totally engrossing, keep-me-on-the-edge-of-my-seat interesting but I still liked it well enough. I think my problem was I was really inconsistent in my reading. I read it on and off over 2 weeks. That doesn’t help me remember things and it makes it a lot harder to pick the book back up.

I didn’t totally click with the book unfortunately. The book wasn’t bad by any means, I just didn’t enjoy it. Maybe I should have started at the beginning of the series?

The bottom line? I didn’t enjoy it as much as I wanted to but it’s still a solid book. Maybe next time I’ll try The Adventures of Sherlock Holmes since short stories are a bit easier to digest.

10 thoughts on “Book Review: “The Hound of the Baskervilles”

  1. Oh, I have the Adventures of Sherlock Holmes if you ever want to borrow it! I got about half way through it and it’s still under “currently reading” but I’m reading too many books to go back to it right now LOL. I really liked A Study In Scarlet – I think it’s difficult sometimes for me to read the old language (which is maybe why I don’t like classics!) but I love the wit and cleverness of Sherlock Holmes so I actually really enjoyed it :)

      • Oh nice! That’s good :) Yep, that’s what usually turns me off from older books. I think Sherlock Holmes is one of the only older books I’ve actually enjoyed.

        • If you enjoy kid’s books and want to try classics, I’d suggest trying to read children’s classics first. They still have the language but the content and stories are easier to swallow. I’ve enjoyed many of the children’s classics I’ve read! Just something to think about. :)

  2. I really enjoyed this one. Sorry it didn’t work out for you though. I read some of the short stories last year and liked them. It might be a good way to get in a Sherlock without committing to a book.

  3. I think the langauge and style is the main challenge when reading classics. Mystery/suspense especially as we are used to edge-of-your-stead nonstop action etc. Older style, even in mystery is much slower and so hard for people today to get into.

    I read the short stories and liked them; I did find that the conclusions were far fetched by today’s standards, but at the time I expect they’d totally work.

What are your thoughts? (Comments are moderated. Yours will be up as soon as I read it!)

