Book Review: “The Lion, The Witch, and The Wardrobe”

“The Lion, The Witch, and The Wardrobe (Chronicles of Narnia #2)” by C.S. Lewis

GoodreadsGenre: Children’s Fiction, Fantasy, Classic

Source: Bought

Other Chronicles of Narnia books

Summary from Goodreads:

They open a door and enter a world

NARNIA…the land beyond the wardrobe, the secret country known only to Peter, Susan, Edmund, and Lucy…the place where the adventure begins.

Lucy is the first to find the secret of the wardrobe in the professor’s mysterious old house. At first, no one believes her when she tells of her adventures in the land of Narnia. But soon Edmund and then Peter and Susan discover the Magic and meet Aslan, the Great Lion, for themselves. In the blink of an eye, their lives are changed forever.

review

I’m having mixed feelings about the book. On one hand, I liked it. It’s my first real journey into Narnia. Narnia is a much different world than what I left in The Magician’s Nephew. The world has started to develop and they are in dark, cold times.

On the other hand, the story seems so simplistic. As an adult, it’s blatantly obvious what Lewis was trying to do. The Christian themes are very overwhelming. That’s not necessarily a bad thing though. I just would have hoped for a bit “deeper” story. With all that said, I did enjoy the story. It’s a quest! That’s always exciting. I loved seeing the world and how it operated. I can’t wait to see more of the world in the future. I felt the world was a bit magical. Can I pretty please explore Narnia?

Once again the characters were a bit flat. I wanted to know more about them and who they are. Edmund drove me crazy. Why is he such a stinker? There’s not really an explanation for why he’s so cranky and wants to ruin everything. That was annoying.

The bottom line? I liked it.

11 thoughts on “Book Review: “The Lion, The Witch, and The Wardrobe”

  1. First… lemme get my happy dance over seeing LWW appearing in my Reader this morning! And then second… OMG Edmund! He was such a stinker. However, there’s a teeny tiny sentence that says that Edmund was pretty likable until he started at a new school… Although I don’t remember if there was a reason behind this. Edmund (and the rest of the Pevensies to an extent) develop a lot more during the series, which is good! Glad you liked it and hope you enjoy the rest of them! Looking forward to more of your thoughts! 🙂

  2. My friends and I might have made a drinking game to the movie where we drank every time there was obvious Christian allegory. It was effective. 😀

  3. I think you will enjoy reading the other books, especially if you liked The Magician’s Nephew. There’s a lot more character development. Re Edmund: if he weren’t a stinker, he wouldn’t require forgiveness, and there’s not a whole heckofalot of merit in forgiving (and learning to like) a nice guy. Just saying.

  4. It is always amazing how adults and kids view the same book. I read this is a child and loved it. I thought the idea of going to Narnia in a wardobe was fantastic. I don’t remember noticing all of the Christian themes as young girl- but they did stand out to me as an adult. Edmund drove me crazy in the first book!

  5. Pingback: The Magician’s Nephew by C. S. Lewis « She Reviews Everything

What are your thoughts? (Comments are moderated. Yours will be up as soon as I read it!)

