Book Review: “The Weepers: The Other Life”

“The Weepers: The Other Life” by Susanne Winnacker

Genre: Young Adult Fiction, Post Apocalyptic, Science Fiction

Source: NetGalley in exchange for an honest review [Thank you!]

Summary from Goodreads:

3 years, 1 month, 1 week and 6 days since I’d seen daylight. One-fifth of my life.

Sherry and her family have lived sealed in a bunker in the garden since things went wrong up above. Her grandfather has been in the freezer for the last three months, her parents are at each other’s throats and two minutes ago they ran out of food.

Sherry and her father leave the safety of the bunker and find a devastated and empty LA, smashed to pieces by bombs and haunted by ‘Weepers’ – rabid humans infected with a weaponized rabies virus.

While searching for food in a supermarket, Sherry’s father disappears and Sherry is saved by Joshua, a boy-hunter. He takes her to Safe-haven, a tumble-down vineyard in the hills outside LA, where a handful of other survivors are picking up the pieces of their ‘other lives’. As she falls in love for the first time, Sherry must save her father, stay alive and keep Joshua safe when his desire for vengeance threatens them all.

This book will be released May 15, 2012.

review

While reading books, I kind of think about what I’m going to say in a review. Things will stand out to me so I’ll make a mental note to talk about it in my review. Well while reading this book I was thoroughly annoyed at what I thought was the mislabeling of this book as a dystopia. I’m sick and tired of authors and publishers labeling everything to be dystopias. For a majority of the book, it’s really more of a post apocalyptic story mixed with zombies. Only at the very end does the book reveal itself to have any dystopian qualities. Even at the end, the dystopian-ness of the book is only alluded to.

The characters were okay. I like that Sherry kicked some butt. She doesn’t sit around for someone to rescue her. She tries her best to take care of herself and her family. Sure she doesn’t always succeed but she always tries. I liked that aspect of her but other than that she falls a bit flat. The story is told through first person narration so I should be able to know her a bit better, right? I guess. You start to see and understand her but it’s not explored fully.

Joshua was the typical male counterpart. He’s on his own, he takes care of himself, he’s a tough guy, he’s got secrets, yawn. Nothing too special about him. The rest of the characters were just meh. I really wasn’t too emotionally invested in them.

The story was fun or at least as fun as a story like this can be. I like post apocalyptic stories well enough. It’s weird to imagine life as we know it to be over. The addition of zombies who aren’t technically zombies was cool. I breezed through the story pretty quickly want to know what was coming.

The pacing was weird. I like fast paced books but this was almost too fast paced. It was like the author wanted to rush on the next aspect of story instead of letting the story sit with the reader. You couldn’t dwell on the development because the author was already on to something new. Then there was the ending. The author drops a bombshell on you and then The End.  I’m sure she has an overall plan for how the story is going to play out but I think there could have been a better way of cutting the story.

The bottom line? A fun read for post apocalyptic fans.

11 thoughts on “Book Review: “The Weepers: The Other Life”

    • Thanks! It’s not the type of book that I would urge to run out and get a copy of ASAP but if you came across it at the library or something, it would be worth picking up. Hope you like it when you get a chance to read it.

  1. You’re right about everything seeming to be labeled as dystopian… when in actuality it’s not! Coming across your sentiment made me really think about what dystopian is and now that I’ve considered it, there are several books out there that I’ve thought of as dystopian that really AREN’T in that category. I don’t know if this book is something I’d ever read, but fantastic, honest review!

  2. Hmm, there’s so much dystopia/post-apocalyptic stuff out there I’m not sure I’d ever make it to this one. I also don’t think I’m much of a zombies girl, either… I have tried a couple zombie books and they just seem way less scary than they should. And if you can’t have a scary monster, then it needs to be a somewhat human one that the characters interact with (like vampires or werewolves that you can fall in love with or something). Zombies just end up being very dull characters if they aren’t frightening.

    • I don’t read many zombie books so I can’t really say how scary this one is comparatively. It is scary in the sense that this type of zombie outbreak could happen (disease makes people sick & fries their brain).

      • I haven’t read much zombie stuff either… just tried a few and found them strangely boring. As I was writing that first comment I think I figured out why!

  3. I like Zombie films and fics, but I’m not too drawn to the cover art. Maybe I’ll give this a try once I’ve actually finished World War Z. Thanks for the review! 🙂

  4. I hate huge cliffhangers at the end of books. And I also don’t like when books are so fast paced you can’t digest what’s going on. I’m glad that the main character’s strong. That’s definitely something that sells a book for me these days. I love Twilight, but Bella’s character really makes me angry. Thanks for sharing. Going to add it to my to read list now.
    -Melissa @Harley Bear Book Blog

  5. Pingback: Guest Post: Zombies & New Worlds & Violence, Oh My! by J.A. Belfield | Jennifer M Eaton

What are your thoughts? (Comments are moderated. Yours will be up as soon as I read it!)

