Book Review: “The Miraculous Journey of Edward Tulane”

“The Miraculous Journey of Edward Tulane” by Kate DiCamillo

Genre: Children’s Fiction

Source: Gift

Summary from Goodreads:

Once, in a house on Egypt Street, there lived a china rabbit named Edward Tulane. The rabbit was very pleased with himself, and for good reason: he was owned by a girl named Abilene, who adored him completely. And then, one day, he was lost. . . .

review

This book threw me for a couple of loops. One- for some reason I thought this book was going to be about a real rabbit not a toy. Two- once I got adjusted to the fact that Edward was a toy, it took me a while to get used to the fact that he’s a much different toy than I’m acquainted with. When I think of toys in books or movies, I think of Toy Story toys. You know the type that move and talk when we’re not looking. Well Edward’s not like that. Instead, he can’t move and he can’t talk. He is ‘conscious’ and aware of everything that’s going on though.

I really didn’t like Edward for most of the story. He was cold and a bit mean. I was almost a bit glad that he got lost (though I was a bit sad for Abilene). Things got better on his journey. DiCamillo was able to make him grow as a character even though he doesn’t do anything. I don’t know how she made that work but she did. The character growth made everything fantastic in the end. It brought the story full circle and made me smile a bit.

The journey he takes is a great one. He travels and meets many different people. I loved the fact that he was able to come to people when they most needed him whether they realized it or not. It’s a simple idea but it’s a sweet one that adds a lot of heart to the story.

The bottom line? Yet another sweet story from Kate DiCamillo that’s absolutely worth a read.

 

 

5 thoughts on “Book Review: “The Miraculous Journey of Edward Tulane”

  1. This is the only book I’ve read by DiCamillo, and I picked it up on a random twitter recommendation for the Readathon last Fall. And you’re right, it was so incredibly sweet. To be honest, I teared up a little at the end, but that may have had something to do with reading it at 5am after not much sleep.

    Although I really liked it, I had such a hard time writing even a short snippet review for it, because, like you said, the rabbit does nothing. But he still comes out at the end as an endearing character.

    I really need to read more by DiCamillo. What else would you recommend?

    • All of them! Haha. Honestly though I haven’t read anything by her that I didn’t enjoy. The Tale of Despereaux might be a good next step if you haven’t read it.

What are your thoughts? (Comments are moderated. Yours will be up as soon as I read it!)

