Book Review: “The Absolutely Amazing Adventures of Agent Auggie Spinoza”

“The Absolutely Amazing Adventures of Agent Auggie Spinoza” by Steven Stickler

Genre: Middle Grade Fiction, Adventure, Fantasy

Source: The author [Thank you!]

Summary from Goodreads:

Auggie Spinoza is a ten-year-old boy with a secret: he is a special agent who can travel through time. Now, he finds himself locked in a desperate battle against evil forces trying to change the course of history. To defeat them, Auggie must pursue a dangerous quest to find a set of mysterious clues hidden in the past.

With the help of a clever new friend and advice from a cast of famous characters with names like Jefferson, Darwin, and Plato, Auggie fights to fulfill his destiny and save his world from ruin. Along the way, he learns the importance of thinking clearly and shows the awesome power of a code-breaking, book-loving, time-traveling ten-year-old with a talent for being in the right place at the right time (and doing the right thing).

Fans of Rick Riordan, The 39 Clues, and The Secrets of the Immortal Nicholas Flamel will delight in this action-packed and thought-provoking adventure through history. However, a brief warning: if you enjoy romantic tales about princesses dressed in pink, DO NOT READ THIS BOOK!

review

Wow, talk about a fun book. The best way I can describe the book is it’s kind of like Spy Kids mixed with time travel. I don’t know about you but I think that sounds awesome. It takes my favorite aspects of MG books and mixes them all together. It’s got kids who have to save the world. It’s got a secret organization that keeps the world moving smoothly. It’s got riddles that you need to solve to save everything. Bonus fun: Auggie and Emily have to travel through time to do all of it.

Sure the idea of kids being forced to save the world from doom isn’t a new idea but it’s done in a way that does feel fresh. I never felt like the story was a rehashing of other books out there. As a result, I wasn’t bored by the story. I wanted nothing more than to keep reading and figure out what was going on. The writing style was fun. Auggie’s voice reminded me quite a bit of Percy Jackson but maybe a bit more “mature”?

The time travel aspect was cool. They travel back and meet famous characters that Auggie and Emily learned about it school. I liked the emphasis of how important it is to remember what you learn in school because you’ll never know when you need to use it.  [Once again, it reminds me of Percy Jackson.]

I appreciated the fact that Emily was very much Auggie’s equal partner. She’s not the sidekick or someone who has to rely on him for help. She’s smart and got a good head on her shoulders. I don’t know if I could be so quick thinking if I were in her situation. Auggie is a good guy as well. He might not be as on top of things as he could have been but what do you expecting when you’re thrown into a bizarre situation blindly?

The bottom line? It’s a super fun Middle Grade book.

Author interview here at The Cheap Reader.

 

Advertisements

4 thoughts on “Book Review: “The Absolutely Amazing Adventures of Agent Auggie Spinoza”

  1. Pingback: Auggie Gets Bloggy « Steven Stickler

What are your thoughts? (Comments are moderated. Yours will be up as soon as I read it!)

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s