Quick Thoughts: “Esio Trot”

Cover of "Esio Trot (Puffin Books)"

Cover of Esio Trot (Puffin Books)

“Esio Trot” by Roald Dahl

Genre: Children’s Fiction, Fantasy

Source: Gift

Summary from Goodreads:

Mr. Hoppy is in love with his neighbor, Mrs. Silver, but she is in love with her pet tortoise. Mr. Hoppy comes up with an idea to get Mrs. Silver’s attention. If his plan works, Mrs. Silver will certainly fall in love with him. After all, everyone knows the way to a woman’s heart is through her tortoise.

review

Oh my. What a cute book. This is one of the books I’ve never heard of in my collection so I had no idea what to expect going into it. I was pleasantly surprised to find that this was one of Dahl’s sweeter books. When you really stop and think about his books, you’ll realize many of them are a bit mean spirited. Mean, nasty adults. ‘Good’ children who play tricks on the adults to pay them back and those tricks can be pretty mean.

Esio Trot was much different than the other books. In this book we have an man  who only wants the affection of his neighbor. He does pull a trick on her but it’s not mean and everyone ends up happy! What more could you want for a quick read?

The bottom line? It’s a lovely, super quick read.

This book was read in conjunction with my Roald Dahl Challenge.

4 thoughts on “Quick Thoughts: “Esio Trot”

  1. I loved this book as a kid. I had completely forgotten about it until I read your review – I had flashbacks. Doesn’t he slowly make her tortoise bigger, by secretly replacing it with carefully measured tortoises, each slightly bigger? I’m racking my brain to remember it. I do remember it has a sweet happy ending 😀

    Great review!

What are your thoughts? (Comments are moderated. Yours will be up as soon as I read it!)

