Listed: Classics I Actually Enjoyed

ListedI think I’ve discussed it before but I’ve never been much of a classics person. I never was able to understand them in high school, the reading was difficult and boring, I hated writing essays on them, and yada, yada, yada. You get the point. While classics and I don’t always get along, here are a few that I’ve actually enjoyed!

Fahrenheit 451 by Ray Bradbury
This was the first classic I read completely on my own out of high school. I was bored at the library and grabbed because I wasn’t seeing anything else interesting. I didn’t go in expecting much. It was just something to read. Boy was I wrong. I actually really, really enjoyed this book. I actually wish I read it in school. I do think being an adult (20-ish) made a pretty big impact on my enjoyment of the book.

The Secret Garden by Frances Hodgson Burnett

The Woman in White by Wilkie Collins
Didn’t think I would like this but I did! I think reading it slow and as part of a ‘group’ helped a lot.

Eeek, I know I really should like more classics. I haven’t had a chance to read many as an adult. Here are the some that I have on my Kindle. Any that I should read soon? How about ones that I should download?

So what are some classics that you enjoy?

19 thoughts on “Listed: Classics I Actually Enjoyed

  1. “The Adventures of Tom Sawyer and Adventures of Huckleberry Finn”
    by Mark Twain
    “Lolita” by Vladimir Nabokov
    “The Little Prince” by Antoine de Saint-Exupéry

    Does Robert Sheckley belong to classics?

  2. I do actually like classics. I read Pride and Prejudice when I was 8 and things took off from there. My parents are both pretty dedicated to literature. My dad reads all of Jane Austen’s books over the course of a year, and my mom is pretty into Dickens and the Brontës. The only books we had in the house were classics.

    So I like them. Some of my favorites are The Count of Monte Cristo, A Clockwork Orange, Persuasion, The Lord of the Flies, and The Tenant of Wildfell Hall. To name a few.

    I can totally see why people don’t like books like that, though. Especially if their only exposure to them is in the classroom setting. For me, I read them because my parents loved them and I expected to love them, too.

    Oh, and I totally agree with you about The Secret Garden. Have you seen the 1994 film? It’s one of my favorites.

    Renae @ Respiring Thoughts

    • Wow, you’re very lucky to have such awesome parent, Renae!
      I watched The Secret Garden after I read the book. It was a cute movie. It’s was much better after having read the book.

    • Neither of my parents were born in an English-speaking country, so I guess they decided that the best way to embrace their new language was to read the greats? 🙂

      Definitely agree. I couldn’t get through the book for a couple of years, but I always liked the movie enough to give it a try. The actress who plays Mary, Kate Maberly, actually looks exactly like me. I got a kick out of that when I was five.

      • Oh wow, that’s even more impressive!

        Awww, that’s pretty awesome that you two looked alike. I saw the movie as a kid but never was impressed by it. I guess I should have read the book first!

  3. I like loads of classics! Although compared to modern/non-classic books I don’t read that many, lol. I really love Little Women, for instance, and the Oz books aren’t so bad, either. (My favorite Oz book is Ozma of Oz. There are trees which grow lunch pails and a lady who can switch between heads! Exciting!)

      • I second the recommendation for Little Women. I LOVE that book. 🙂

        (Also, I saw Mozart’s Sister on your list. I’m super-curious about it.) 🙂

        • Now I’m really interested in reading it. It’s always a good sign to hear people say they love it.

          Thanks! It was a Kindle freebie from a while back. I keep forgetting I have it! I really need to read the free books I download, haha.

  4. JANE EYRE! is my favourite. Also, the old standby, Pride and Prejudice. But both were books I read as an adult – I don’t think I would have appreciated them when I was a teen.

    I bought The Secret Garden recently and am looking forward to reading it. I think my mom tried to get me to read it when I was younger, but I was too into Babysitter Club and Sweet Valley to care much about anything else.

    • Haha, maybe I should but both books into rotation for the book club.

      YAY! I hope you enjoy The Secret Garden. I really enjoyed it but I read it as an adult. I was bored to tears by the movie as a kid so I never read the book.

What are your thoughts? (Comments are moderated. Yours will be up as soon as I read it!)

